Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault 12.3 - Administration Guide

Introduction Getting started Configuring clients Managing catalog search Configuring storage devices Backing up data Managing policies Restoring data Managing NetVault Backup dashboard Managing jobs Monitoring logs Managing storage devices
Monitoring device activity Managing disk-based storage devices in list view Managing disk-based storage devices in tree view Managing the Snapshot Array Manager Managing tape libraries in list view Managing tape libraries in tree view Managing tape drives in list view Managing tape drives in tree view Adding shared devices
Managing storage media Managing user and group accounts
About user accounts About user and group privileges and presets Creating a user account Modifying a user account Deleting a user account Setting a user policy Using Secure Mode Using Presets User privileges Predefined Presets Integrating Active Directory with NetVault Backup Using Azure Active Directory as an identity provider
Monitoring events and configuring notifications Reporting in NetVault Backup Working with client clusters Configuring default settings for NetVault Backup
About configuring default settings Configuring encryption settings Configuring plug-in options Configuring default settings for post-scripts Configuring default settings for Verify Plug-in Configuring Deployment Manager Settings Configuring Job Manager settings Configuring Logging Daemon settings Configuring Media Manager settings Configuring Network Manager settings Configuring Process Manager settings Configuring RAS device settings Configuring Schedule Manager settings Configuring Web Service settings Configuring Auditor Daemon settings Configuring firewall settings Configuring general settings Configuring security settings Synchronizing NetVault Time Configuring default settings for global notification methods Configuring the reporting utility Configuring NetVault Backup WebUI default settings Configuring NetVault Backup to use a specific VSS provider Configuring default settings using Txtconfig
Diagnostic tracing Managing diagnostic data Using the deviceconfig utility NetVault Backup processes Environment variables Network ports used by NetVault Backup Troubleshooting
Common errors
NetVault Backup Service fails to start on Windows NetVault Backup Service fails to start after the machine is restarted NetVault Backup Service starts, but stops immediately on Linux Login fails after any change in the server IP address Unexpected behavior of NetVault Backup WebUI WebUI does not run in Compatibility View in Internet Explorer NetVault Backup installer fails during push installation VSS-based backup fails Modifying TCP/IP socket buffer size on Windows Restores using Data Copy savesets fail on clients running NetVault Backup 10.0.1 Restore fails on Itanium platforms if the index is larger than 2GB After upgrade, Data Copy and Consolidated backup job on Linux fails After upgrade, console error is displayed on WebUI pages Deployment task hangs on target Linux machine during push installation. Unable to add package store with hostname. Deployment task fails due to network configuration issues. Domain user is unable to login NetVault Backup Server if the workstation attribute is set. Domain user is unable to login NetVault Backup Server on Debian 9. Adding the target machine as a client fails, after successful push installation. Unable to install, uninstall or navigate catalog search page after manually uninstalling NetVault Backup Client Host. Unable to install, uninstall catalog search on client after NetVault Backup Server migration with the same or different server name External Azure AD user cannot add an external Azure AD user to NetVault Backup Server Failed to verify target Windows machine from a Linux-based NetVault Backup server
Safe Mode in NetVault Backup

Removing a client from the server

If a client is no longer used, you can remove it from the NetVault Backup Server.

2
In the NetVault Backup Clients table, select the client, and click Manage.
3
On the View Client page, click Remove Client.

Managing client groups

This section includes the following topics:

About client groups

NetVault Backup lets you group the clients into one or more logical entities.

You can configure a client group to contain all clients or specific clients. The new clients automatically become members of the client groups that are configured to include all clients. You can create any number of client groups on the server and add a client to multiple client groups.

The NetVault Backup Administrator can use client groups to control user access to clients. The administrator can grant access to specific clients by using a client group. Client groups are also useful when creating policy-based backups. Instead of individually selecting each client, you can select the client group to add multiple clients.

NetVault Backup includes a pre-configured client group named default, which is originally configured to include All Clients. Therefore, when you add a client, it is automatically added to the default group, unless you have reconfigured this group to not include All Clients.

Creating a client group

You can group the NetVault Backup Clients into one or more logical entities. A client group can contain all or specific clients. The new clients automatically become members for client groups that are configured to include all clients.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Clients, and then on the Manage Clients page, click Manage Client Groups.
2
On the Client Group Management page, click New Group. On the Client Group page, provide the following information
In Group Name, type a name for the client group.
In Group Description, provide a detailed description for the client group.
To add all clients to the group, select the All Clients check box. When you select this check box, the new clients are automatically added to the group.
To add a specific client, select the target client in the Available Clients table, and click the Add button () to the left of the item. When you click this button, the selected client is moved to the Chosen Clients table.
To remove a client from the group, select the target client in the Chosen Clients table, and click the Remove button () to the left of the item. When you click this button, the selected client is moved to the Available Clients table.
3
Related Documents