If you no longer need a particular storage, you can delete it. If the storage you delete is an Exchange Server database, the deletion of the storage may affect the database files associated with that storage. Please consider information in this section before deleting a storage.
To delete a storage
To delete a target storage, expand the Target Storages node in the left pane.
If the storage being deleted is an Exchange Server database you extracted from backup by using Recovery Manager for Exchange, the database files are deleted from the location to which they were extracted. To register that storage again, you will have to extract the database from backup again which may be a lengthy operation.
If the storage you delete is an offline Exchange store database or Lotus Domino database extracted without using Recovery Manager for Exchange, the deletion of that storage does not result in the deletion of the database files. For example, you may dismount an Exchange store, and register that store as a source storage with Recovery Manager for Exchange. The deletion of such a storage does not affect the database files.
If the storage you delete is an Exchange Server or Exchange Online mailbox or public folder hierarchy, or .pst file, the deletion of that storage only closes the connection to that mailbox, public folder hierarchy, or pst file, and removes the corresponding item from the Recovery Manager Console. The mailbox, public folder hierarchy, or .pst file remains intact. The data is retained in the mailbox, public folder hierarchy, or .pst file associated with the storage you remove. You can register that mailbox, public folder hierarchy, or .pst file as a storage again, when needed.
You can permanently delete a mailbox, a folder, or a message-level item from a target storage.
To delete a folder or mailbox
To delete a message-level item
You can permanently delete a folder or a message-level item from a writable source storage, such as online mailbox or Personal Folders (.pst) file.
To delete an item from a writable source storage
Items you delete from source storages cannot be recovered.
Recovery Manager for Exchange allows you to restore or export data to new .eml, .msg, .txt, or .pst files. Before you do so, you may want to view or change access permissions to be applied to the target files created in the result of the restore or export operation.
You can view or change the access permissions by using the following methods: