Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault 12.3 - Administration Guide for Managed Service Providers

Introduction Getting started Configuring clients Managing catalog search Configuring storage devices Backing up data Managing policies Restoring data Managing NetVault Backup dashboard Managing jobs Monitoring logs Managing storage devices
Role-based access to manage storage devices Monitoring device activity Managing disk-based storage devices in list view Managing disk-based storage devices in tree view Managing the Snapshot Array Manager Managing tape libraries in list view Managing tape libraries in tree view Managing tape drives in list view Managing tape drives in tree view Adding shared devices
Managing storage media Managing user and group accounts Managing Tenant Monitoring events and configuring notifications Reporting in NetVault Backup Working with client clusters Configuring default settings for NetVault Backup
About configuring default settings Configuring encryption settings Configuring plug-in options Configuring default settings for post-scripts Configuring default settings for Verify Plug-in Configuring Deployment Manager Settings Configuring Job Manager settings Configuring Logging Daemon settings Configuring Media Manager settings Configuring Network Manager settings Configuring Process Manager settings Configuring RAS device settings Configuring Schedule Manager settings Configuring Web Service settings Configuring Auditor Daemon settings Configuring firewall settings Configuring general settings Configuring security settings Synchronizing NetVault Time Configuring the reporting utility Configuring NetVault Backup WebUI default settings Configuring NetVault Backup to use a specific VSS provider Configuring default settings using Txtconfig
Diagnostic tracing Managing diagnostic data Using the deviceconfig utility NetVault Backup processes Environment variables Network ports used by NetVault Backup Troubleshooting

Removing a client from the server

If a client is no longer used, you can remove it from the NetVault Backup Server.

2
In the NetVault Backup Clients table, select the client, and click Manage.
3
On the View Client page, click Remove Client.

Managing client groups

This section includes the following topics:

About client groups

NetVault Backup lets you group the clients into one or more logical entities.

The NetVault Backup MSP Administrator and Tenant Administrator can use client groups to control user access to clients. They can grant access to specific clients by using a client group. Therefore, when you add a client, it is automatically added to the default group.

NetVault Backup includes a pre-configured unique client group named default, and the local administrator assigns this client group to MSP administrator manually. The NetVault Backup Server is by default part of this group, MSP administrator can register, assign, and configure a new client to this client group to access it. During tenant registration, a default and unique client group is created, and all the clients registered by the tenant administrator are part of this client group.

Creating a client group

You can group the NetVault Backup Clients into one or more logical entities. A client group can contain all or specific clients. The new clients automatically become members for client groups that are configured to include all clients.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Clients, and then on the Manage Clients page, click Manage Client Groups.
2
On the Client Group Management page, click New Group. On the Client Group page, provide the following information
In Group Name, type a name for the client group.
In Group Description, provide a detailed description for the client group.
To add all clients to the group, select the All Clients check box. When you select this check box, the new clients are automatically added to the group.
To add a specific client, select the target client in the Available Clients table, and click the Add button () to the left of the item. When you click this button, the selected client is moved to the Chosen Clients table.
To remove a client from the group, select the target client in the Chosen Clients table, and click the Remove button () to the left of the item. When you click this button, the selected client is moved to the Available Clients table.
3
Related Documents