Chat now with support
Tchattez avec un ingénieur du support

Rapid Recovery 6.3 - User Guide

Introduction to Rapid Recovery The Core Console Repositories Core settings Managing privacy Encryption Protecting machines
About protecting machines with Rapid Recovery Understanding the Rapid Recovery Agent software installer Deploying Agent to multiple machines simultaneously from the Core Console Using the Deploy Agent Software Wizard to deploy to one or more machines Modifying deploy settings Understanding protection schedules Protecting a machine About protecting multiple machines Enabling application support Settings and functions for protected Exchange servers Settings and functions for protected SQL servers
Managing protected machines Credentials Vault Snapshots and recovery points Replication Events Reporting VM export Restoring data Bare metal restore
About bare metal restore BMR Windows and Linux Understanding boot CD creation for Windows machines Managing a Linux boot image Performing a bare metal restore using the Restore Machine Wizard Using the Universal Recovery Console for a BMR Performing a bare metal restore for Linux machines Verifying a bare metal restore
Managing aging data Archiving Cloud accounts Core Console references REST APIs Glossary

Managing settings for outgoing replication

The changes made to these settings affect the data transfer to all target Cores associated with this source Core.

  1. On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] 
    (Replication).
    The Replication page appears.
  2. In the Outgoing Replication pane, at the top of the summary table, click [Settings]
    (Settings).
    The Replication Settings dialog box appears.
  3. In the Replication Settings dialog box, edit the replication settings as described in the following table.
    Table 99: Replication settings
    Option Description
    Cache lifetime (seconds) Specify the amount of time between each target Core status request performed by the source Core.
    Volume image session timeout (minutes) Specify the amount of time the source Core spends attempting to transfer a volume image to the target Core.
    Maximum parallel streams Specify the number of network connections permitted to be used by a single protected machine to replicate that machine’s data at one time.
    Maximum transfer speed (MB/s) Specify the speed limit for transferring the replicated data.
    Maximum transfer data size (GB) Specify the maximum size in GB for transferring blocks of replicated data.

    Restore Defaults

    Select this option to change all replication settings to the system defaults.

    NOTE: Take note of any customized settings before selecting this option. You will not be prompted to confirm this action

  4. When satisfied, click Save to save the replication settings and close the dialog box.

Changing target Core settings

You can change the host and port settings for individual target Cores from the source Core.

  1. On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] 
    (Replication). .

    The Replication page appears.

    In the Outgoing Replication pane, the summary table includes a row for each target Core that has been configured to replicate recovery points from this source Core.

  2. Click the [Settings]
    (Settings) drop-down menu for the target Core you want to modify, and then select Change Settings.
    The Settings dialog box appears.
  3. Edit any of the options described in the following table.
    Table 100: Target Core settings
    Option Description

    Host

    Enter the host for the target Core.

    Port

    Enter a port for the target Core to use for communication with the source Core.

    NOTE: The default port is 8006.

  4. Click Save.

Setting replication priority for a protected machine

Replication priority determines which replication jobs are sent to the Core first. Prioritization is set ordinally, on a scale of 1 to 10, where a priority of 1 is the first priority, and a priority of 10 is the last priority. When you first establish replication for any machine, its priority is set to 5. You can view and change priority at the protected machine level from the source Core.

In some cases, it is possible that some replication jobs are abandoned. For example, replication jobs can be abandoned if your environment is experiencing unusually high change rates or if your network does not have enough bandwidth. This situation is particularly likely if you set schedules which limit the hours when replication occurs in your environment. For more information about setting schedules replication, see Scheduling replication.

To ensure replication occurs for important machines first, set critical servers to a priority with a lower number (between 1 and 5). Set priority for less important machines to a higher number (between 6 and 10).

Setting replication priority to 4 for any protected machine assures its replication job is started before a machine with the default replication priority of 5. Replication jobs for machines with a priority of 3 are queued before 4, and so on. The lower the priority number, the sooner its replication jobs are sent. It is easy to remember that priority 1 is most important. Machines with a replication priority of 1 are the first machines queued for replication.

Complete the steps below to edit the settings that prioritize when a protected machine replicates.

  1. On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication]
    (Replication).
    The Replication page appears.
  2. In the Outgoing Replication pane, click the [Expand]
    arrow to the right of any source Core.
    The view expands to show each of the protected machines from this source Core that are being replicated to the designated target Core.
  3. Click the [Settings]
    (More) drop-down menu for the protected machine you want to prioritize, and then click Change Settings.
    A dialog box appears.
  4. Click the Priority drop-down list and select a priority, from 1 (Highest) to 10 (Lowest), based on your requirements.
  5. Click Save.
    The dialog box closes, and the replication priority for the selected machine updates.

Removing outgoing replication from the source Core

Complete the steps in this procedure to remove one or more protected machines from replication on the source Core.

  1. On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication]
    (Replication).

    The Replication page appears.

    In the Outgoing Replication pane, the summary table includes a row for each target Core that has been configured to replicate recovery points from this source Core.

  2. Optionally, click the [Expand]
    arrow to the right of any target Core.
    The view expands to show each of the protected machines from this source Core that are being replicated to the designated target Core.
  3. Select the protected machines you want to remove from outgoing replication as follows:
    • To completely remove the existing replication relationship between this source Core and any target Core, click the [Settings] (More) drop-down menu for any target Core, and then select Delete.
    • To remove outgoing replication for a subset of machines in the specified target Core, expand the view to show all machines being replicated, and select the check box for each replicated machine that you want to remove. Clear the checkbox for any machine you want to continue replicating. Then, from the menu above the summary table, click [Delete]Delete.
    A confirmation message appears asking if you want to remove the replication relationships.
  4. In the resulting dialog box, click Yes to confirm removal.
Documents connexes