Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Rapid Recovery 6.3 - User Guide

Introduction to Rapid Recovery The Core Console Repositories Core settings Managing privacy Encryption Protecting machines
About protecting machines with Rapid Recovery Understanding the Rapid Recovery Agent software installer Deploying Agent to multiple machines simultaneously from the Core Console Using the Deploy Agent Software Wizard to deploy to one or more machines Modifying deploy settings Understanding protection schedules Protecting a machine About protecting multiple machines Enabling application support Settings and functions for protected Exchange servers Settings and functions for protected SQL servers
Managing protected machines Credentials Vault Snapshots and recovery points Replication Events Reporting VM export Restoring data Bare metal restore
About bare metal restore BMR Windows and Linux Understanding boot CD creation for Windows machines Managing a Linux boot image Performing a bare metal restore using the Restore Machine Wizard Using the Universal Recovery Console for a BMR Performing a bare metal restore for Linux machines Verifying a bare metal restore
Managing aging data Archiving Cloud accounts Core Console references REST APIs Glossary

Removing an encryption key

When you remove an encryption key from the Encryption Keys page, the key is deleted from the Rapid Recovery Core.

NOTE: Removing an encryption key does not decrypt the recovery points already saved using the key. You must still retain and provide the passphrase for the key to recover data for existing encrypted recovery points.

You cannot remove an encryption key that is already associated with any protected machine. You must first view the encryption settings for each protected machine using the key, and disassociate the encryption key you want to remove. For more information, see the topic Disassociating an encryption key from a protected machine.

Complete the steps in this procedure to remove an encryption key.

  1. Navigate to the Rapid Recovery Core Console.
  2. On the icon bar, click [More] (More) and then select Encryption Keys.
    The Encryption Keys page appears.
  3. Locate the encryption key you want to remove. Click its drop-down menu [More], and select Remove.
    The Remove Encryption Key dialog box appears. You see a message confirming the action to remove the encryption key.
  4. In the dialog box, confirm that you want to remove the encryption key.

    NOTE: Removing an encryption key does not decrypt the recovery points already saved using the key. You must still retain and provide the key to recover data for existing encrypted recovery points.

    The dialog box closes, and the encryption key you removed no longer appears on the Encryption Keys page.

Changing encryption key types

Encryption keys list one of two possible types on the Encryption Keys pane: Universal or Replication. The type indicates the likely origin of the encryption key, and determines whether you can change its details or passphrase. You can modify these attributes only if the type is Universal. If you need to modify these attributes for a key with Replicated type, you must change its type to Universal using this procedure. When you change the type of an encryption key to Universal, it is unlocked manually and can be used to encrypt other protected machines.

NOTE: You must know the passphrase to change the type from Replicated to Universal.

Encryption keys also have two possible states: Locked or Unlocked. The state controls your ability to apply an encryption key to a protected machine, or to restore data from a recovery point with encryption. You can change the type of an encryption key manually only if the state is Unlocked.

When you first create an encryption key, its type is Universal, and its state is Unlocked. You can use such a key immediately (for example, to encrypt backups for a protected machine). However, a Universal key type cannot be locked manually. If you want to manually lock an encryption key with a type of Universal, you must change the type to Replicated using this procedure.

You cannot change an encryption key type if it is already in use encrypting recovery points for one or more protected machine.

Follow this procedure to change an encryption key type.

  1. Navigate to the Rapid Recovery Core Console.
  2. On the icon bar, click [More] (More) and then select Encryption Keys.
    The Encryption Keys page appears. Any encryption keys accessible to the Core appear in a summary table. Each lists a type of Universal or Replicated.
  3. Locate the encryption key you want to update.
  4. If you want to change a Universal encryption key to Replication, do the following:
    1. Click its drop-down menu [More], and select Change the type to Replicated.
      The Change Encryption Key Type dialog box appears. You see a message confirming that you want to change the type to Replicated.
    2. In the dialog box, confirm that you want to change the type to Replication.
      The dialog box closes, and the encryption key type updates to Replication.
  5. If you want to change a Replication encryption key to Universal, do the following:
    1. Click its drop-down menu [More], and select Change the type to Universal
      The Change Encryption Key Type dialog box appears. You see a message confirming that you want to change the type to Universal.
    2. In the dialog box, in the Passphrase text box, enter the passphrase and then click OK to confirm that you want to change the type to Universal.
      The dialog box closes, and the encryption key type updates to Universal.

Protecting machines

This section describes how to protect, configure, and manage the protected machines in your Rapid Recovery environment.

Topics include:

About protecting machines with Rapid Recovery

To protect your data using Rapid Recovery, you need to add the workstations, servers, desktop, and laptop machines you want to protect to your Rapid Recovery Core.

In the Rapid Recovery Core Console, using one of the Protect Machine wizards, you can identify the machines you want to protect. You can do the following:

  • Protect a single machine using the Protect Machine wizard, which connects to the machine using network hostname or IP address. For more information about how to protect a single machine, see Protecting a machine.
  • Protect a network cluster using the Protect Cluster wizard, which connects to the cluster and its nodes using network hostname or IP address. For more information about how to protect a cluster, see Protecting a cluster.
  • Protect multiple machines simultaneously using the Protect Multiple Machines wizard. This wizard lets you connect to the machines associated with a Microsoft Active Directory server; machines on a vCenter or ESXi host; or to machines on a Hyper-V host or a Hyper-V cluster. You can also manually enter connection information (network hostname or IP address, username and password) for multiple machines. For more information about how to protect multiple machines, see About protecting multiple machines.

NOTE: Quest recommends limiting the number of machines you protect simultaneously to 50 or fewer, to preclude experiencing resource constraints that may cause the protect operation to fail.

When identifying your protection requirements for a single machine in the wizard, you can specify which volumes to protect. When you protect multiple machines, all volumes are protected by default. (You can change this later on an individual machine basis).

When protecting a virtual machine on a vCenter/ESXi or Hyper-V host, you must define whether to protect the machine using the Rapid Snap for Virtual feature or by installing Rapid Recovery Agent. For more information, see Factors when choosing agent-based or agentless protection.

The wizard also lets you define a customized schedule for protection (or re-use an existing schedule).

Using advanced options, you can add additional security measures by specifying or applying an encryption key to backups for the machines you want to protect.

Finally, if one does not already exist, you can define a repository using the wizard.

After installing the Agent software, each machine must be restarted after installation.

For more information on how to protect workstations and servers, see Protecting a machine.

Related Documents