Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Welcome, erwin customers to Quest Support Portal click here for for frequently asked questions regarding servicing your supported assets.

Migrator for Notes to SharePoint 6.15 - User Guide

Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Console
Overview Console configuration using the setup wizard Advanced configuration options Database discovery QuickPlace/Quickr discovery Domino.Doc discovery Discover directory entries Import database records Notes databases Applications Classification Rules Classification Rule Properties SharePoint Targets Scheduled tasks Reports Task history Link Analyzer/Updater/Finalizer License
Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Designer Migration jobs Appendix: Reference information

Importing tasks

For migration jobs that have been run using Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Designer or the Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Command Line, the logs can be imported into Task History. This allows the jobs to be visible in the database’s migration history.

2
Select Import log files from the Action menu.

You can select one or more log files to import. A record in the Task History view will be created to log the results of the import.

Only migration logs generated by Migrator for Notes to SharePoint or Migrator for Notes to SharePointCmd will be imported. Any other log files (including those that may have been exported from the Task History view in the Console) will be ignored. Log files that have already been imported into the Console, we will ignored as well.

The import will attempt to match up the Notes database that was used for the migration with the database reference being held in the Repository. If the database reference is found, the Task History record will be associated with the database, and will show up in the Migration History tab in that database's properties.

General rules for running tasks

When running any task, the user has the option to run the task in the background. If the user does not choose this option, the task will run in the foreground. The Task Management dialog box will be displayed.

You can view your task process and, if the task is a sequence, the progress of all the sub tasks.

Click the Cancel button to stop the task. If there is a recoverable error the task will pause and wait for you to cancel or resume. If you click Hide, the dialog will close but the task will keep running in the background. You can go to the Task History View to open it again.

If the user chooses to run the task in the background, you can view the task and its status in the Task History View. You can open the Task Management dialog box for the task by selecting it in the view and double clicking.

Link Analyzer/Updater/Finalizer

The Tools node contains the Link Analyzer/Updater/Finalizer child node which allows you to manage your Link Tracking database.

The Link Tracking Service (LTS) component ensures that Notes DocLinks continue to work before, during and after the migration process, regardless of the order of document migration. The service maintains a record of every document that is ever migrated and guarantees that users clicking on an intra-document link will always be able to find the current location of the document. Users can view a Link Tracking information page first, or simply be redirected to the desired page in Notes or SharePoint.

As each document is migrated to SharePoint, its new location is tracked in a SQL Server database called the LTS database. This database is created when you first install Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Services.

When migrating Notes rich text fields that contain DocLinks to other Notes documents, these DocLinks are converted to URL links to a Link Tracking service that knows how to resolve them. If a SharePoint user clicks on a link to a document that has not been migrated yet, they will be redirected to the appropriate document in the Notes client. If the user clicks on that same link after the document is migrated, they will be redirected to the new copy of the document in SharePoint (which might be a list item, a document library file, or even an InfoPath form).

Documents can be added to the Link Tracking Service whether the migration is accomplished through the Import Service or by using Migrator for Notes to SharePoint products in “local” mode (running the tool directly on the SharePoint server).

If, after your migrations, you move your SharePoint site to another server or location, you can update the links in the LTS database using the Link Tracking Finalizer/Updater. If you have relocated the LTS redirector page, the Link Tracking Finalizer/Updater can also update all documents that have links to the LTS redirector page in order to look for that page in the new location. If you would like to remove the Link Tracking Service completely after the migration is done, the Link Tracking Finalizer/Updater can finalize the links to allow for its removal

The Link Tracking database can be configured and managed on the SharePoint server as a Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Service or in the client using this node of the Console. From this node, you can configure Migrator for Notes to SharePoint to use the client rather than the server to manage the Link Tracking database.

NOTE: To configure Migrator for Notes to SharePoint to use the SharePoint server for Link Tracking management, see the Configuring the Link Tracking Service section of the Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Installation Guide. If the SharePoint server is used, it will need the ability to connect and update the Migrator for Notes to SharePoint Link Tracking database.

Overview tab

From the Overview tab, the status of the client managed Link Tracking is indicated. If the client managed Link Tracking has not been turned on, it will be indicated. To configure client managed Link Tracking, click the Change Settings link. This will open the Link Tracking tab of the Advanced configuration options dialog box. From this dialog box, you can enable client side link tracking as well as configure it.

The “Link Tracking Database Settings” section shows the Server, Database and Authentication method currently in effect.

There are two links:

Change Settings -> This opens the Link Tracking tab of the Advanced Options dialog box where the settings for Client Side Link Tracking and Finalization features can be configured.

The Lower section of this tab is for describing and accessing the Link Tracking Update and Finalization features. Access to these features is enabled once the Link Tracking database is successfully configured and you have turned on the “Enable Link Updater / Finalizer operations directly from the Migration Console” option on the Link Tracking tab of the Advanced Options dialog box.

Once enabled, click on the Analyze, Update or Finalize links to access the following tabs:

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating