Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Welcome, Quadrotech customers to Quest Support Portal click here for for frequently asked questions regarding servicing your supported assets.

Toad Intelligence Central 5.3 - Quick Start Guide

Edit Object Details

You can edit object details in the Details pane for objects to which you have Manage privileges. The editable object details include name, description, tags, and folder. From the Details pane you can also move the object to another folder.

To edit object details

  1. In the Web Console, click Home.
  2. Select an object to display object details.
  3. In the Details pane, select the property to edit. Modify the value and then click .
  4. To move the selected object, select a folder from the Folder drop-down list.

Lock/Unlock Object

You can lock an object to prevent the object from being dropped by other users or to prevent certain attributes from being modified by other users. Users with Manage privileges for an object can lock it.

To lock an object

  1. In the Web Console, click Home.
  2. Select an object to display object details.
  3. In the Details pane, click in the Locked by field.

Which Object Operations Are Locked

Once an object is locked, it cannot be modified or dropped, except by the user who locked it or by the Administrator. Only the user who locked it and the Administrator can unlock it.

Locking an object prevents users (except the user who locked it and the Administrator) from performing the following actions:

  • Dropping an object
  • Modifying an object's sharing or manage options
  • Modifying a snapshot's refresh schedule
  • Manually refreshing a snapshot

Which Object Activities Are Not Locked

  • If a locked snapshot has a refresh schedule, it will continue to refresh at the scheduled time.
  • Locked tables and views continue to reflect current data from the source. When you access a locked view, the query executes and retrieves the current data.

Move Objects

On the Home page, you can drag-and-drop an object to move it to another folder. You can also relocate an object by selecting the destination folder in the selected object's Details pane. Users with the Administrator role or manage privileges to the object can move an object (between non-secured folders). An object cannot be moved if it is locked by another user.

Restrictions:

  • You cannot move rules out of the Common_Transformation_Repository.
  • You cannot sort or reorganize objects within a folder.
  • You cannot move an object to a folder where the name exists.
  • To move an object, you must have manage privileges to the object.
  • To move an object to a secured folder, you must have manage privileges to the object and to the secured folder.

Specify Visibility and Manage Privileges

Users with Manage privileges to an object can modify the object's Visibility/Sharing and Manage privileges. See Manager Privileges for additional information.

To modify visibility and manage settings for a secured folder, see Specify Visibility, Manage and Publish Privileges for Folders.

Specify Visibility Privileges

You can modify the Visibility/Sharing options for an object to which you have Manage privileges.

To alter Visibility for an object

  1. In the Web Console, click Home.
  2. Select an object to display details.
  3. In the Details pane, click Visibility to open the Alter Visibility dialog.
  4. Select to either keep the object private, make it public, or share it with a list of users you specify. Review the following for additional information.

    Sharing Option Description

    Keep this data private

    Select to keep the object private.

    Share this data with any user

    Select to make the object public.

    Allow any user to manage this object—Select this option to grant Manage privileges to all users.

    Share this data with selected users and groups

    Select this option to make the object available to a list of users you specify. Then add users and groups to the right pane. You can include both individual users and groups.

    Manage—Select this option for each user (or group) to which you want to grant Manage privileges.

Note: When privileges are assigned to a group, a new member added to the group is automatically assigned the privileges of the group. When the user is removed from the group, any rights associated with that group are removed for that user. A user is given the highest level of privileges applied to them, whether it is as an individual user or as a member of a group.

Specify Manager Privileges

You can modify the Manage privileges for an object to which you have Manage privileges.

To modify Manage privileges for an object

  1. In the Web Console, click Home.
  2. Select an object to display object details.
  3. In the Details pane, click Managers to open the Alter Visibility dialog.
  4. Select a Manage option based on the specified Visibility setting:
    Visibility Setting Manage Option
    Share this data with any user Allow any user to manage this object—Select this option to provide manage privileges to all users.
    Share this data with selected users Select the check box in the Manage column for each user (or group) to which you want to grant Manage privileges.

Users with Manage privileges to an object can do the following (unless the object is locked):

  • Lock the object
  • Delete the object
  • Modify the object's sharing options
  • Modify the object's manage options
  • Rename the object
  • (Automation script) Change user account for script execution
  • (Snapshot) Refresh snapshot or modify refresh schedule
  • (Automation script) Modify schedule
  • (View or Automation script) Modify variable default value
  • Change a shared key password
  • Change Authentication key type

Alter Authentication

Use the Alter Authentication dialog to set your personal authentication key, to update keys when your remote data source password changes, or to change authentication key type for a view.

You can use the Alter Authentication dialog to perform the following tasks:

  • To set your personal authentication key—You are required to authenticate the first time you attempt to download a view that was published with a personal key. Enter your personal login credentials to access the remote source.
  • To change your personal authentication key password—If your password changed for a remote data source, you must also change the password in your authentication key.
  • To change a shared key password—If the password changed for the shared account in the remote data source, you must also change the password for the shared authentication key. Users with Manage privileges can modify a shared key.
  • To change personal key to shared key— Change the type of key applied to an object from personal to shared. All personal keys are removed. Users with Manage privileges to the object can change the authentication key type.
  • To change shared key to personal key— Change the type of key applied to an object from shared to personal. After the personal key is applied, users with which the object is shared are required o set a personal key by providing personal login credentials to the remote source. Users with Manage privileges to the object can change the authentication key type.

    Note: This action is not available for snapshots. You can apply only a shared key to a snapshot.

To modify Authentication

  1. In the Web interface (Web server), select the Home page.
  2. Select an object to display object details.
  3. In the Details pane, click the link in the Source field. If the object has multiple data sources, multiple links are displayed. Select a link to open the Alter Authentication dialog.
  4. In the Alter Authentication dialog, select the data source for which you want to modify authentication.
  5. (Views) To set your personal key, enter your login credentials for the remote data source.
  6. If you are updating your password, enter the new password.
  7. (Views) To change a personal key to a shared key, select Share authentication.
  8. (Views) To change a shared key to a personal key, clear the Share authentication check box.

    Note: This option is not available for snapshots. You can apply only a shared key to a snapshot.

  9. (Views) Apply this to other view objects for this source that need authentication—If setting your personal key, select this option to apply these credentials to other views sourced from this data source with a personal key that also require authentication.

    TIP: If your password changed for a remote data source, you must also change the password in your personal authentication keys. If you are using the Alter Authentication dialog to change a personal authentication key password, select this option to apply the change to all applicable views.

    Specify this option separately for each data source in the drop-down list.

    Note: This option is disabled for a shared key.

Related Documents