Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Security Explorer 9.8 - User Guide

Getting Started with Security Explorer Managing permissions Searching Managing security Managing objects
Managing folders and files Managing shares Managing registry keys Managing services Managing tasks Managing groups and users Managing Favorites Managing Enterprise Scopes Updating licenses Managing network drives
Working with Microsoft SQL Server Working with Microsoft Exchange
Checking minimum requirements Viewing Exchange permissions Granting Exchange permissions Revoking Exchange permissions Cloning Exchange permissions Searching for Exchange server objects and permissions Backing up and restoring Exchange server security Modifying Exchange permissions Managing Exchange group memberships Exporting Exchange security permissions Creating Exchange databases Creating public folder mailboxes Managing Exchange administrators Managing Exchange distribution groups Managing mail contacts Managing mail users Managing mailboxes Managing mailbox folders Managing public folders Using role based access control Setting options for Exchange security
Working with Microsoft SharePoint Working with Access Explorer Working with Microsoft Active Directory Customizing Security Explorer Using the command line Using PowerShell cmdlets Troubleshooting

Restoring security

You can restore your permissions from a backup file created by using the Backup function. You can restore some or all of the backup file. You can restore to multiple paths. Prior to initiating the restore process, you can verify the permissions against the current permissions.

TIP: You can use the Restore basic task to select a backup file to restore. After you locate the backup file and click OK, the Restore Security dialog box opens with the Backup File box populated.
2
Open the Browse tab.
3
Select Security | Restore Security.
4
In the Backup File box, type the full path and name for the backup file, or click Load to locate a backup file. The contents of the backup file display in the left pane.
NOTE: When restoring from the Share Security, Registry Security, SharePoint Security, SQL Server Security, and Active Directory modules, the check boxes and the Advanced button are unavailable. The Restore to different paths check box is available in the SharePoint Security module. The Restore permissions check box is selected by default.

Show differences (folders and files only)

Applies to NTFS Security module only. Select to show the folders and files that have different permissions than the ones in the backup file. If you select this check box, a message box displays.

If you click Yes to proceed, the backup file reloads. If the permissions for a folder or file are different than those in the backup file, the name displays in red in the tree. If a folder contains sub-folders or files with different permissions, a red star displays next to the folder icon. Any differences between the current permissions and the backed up permissions are highlighted in yellow.

Include files when previewing backup

Applies to NTFS Security module only. Select to include files in the display. By default, only folders display. If you select this check box, the backup file reloads to display all the files.

Restore owner

Restore permissions

Applies to NTFS Security module only. By default, both the owner and permissions are restored. Clear the appropriate check box for the item you do not want to restore.

Restore missing folders

Applies to NTFS Security module only. Select to recreate folders that are present in the backup file, but are no longer present in the destination path.

Restore SACL

Select to restore System Access Control List (SACL). Available only if SACL was included in the backup. See Backing up security.

Restore to different paths

Applies to NTFS Security, SQL Security, and SharePoint Security modules only. Select to restore the permissions to different paths.

Browse to locate a path. Repeat to add additional paths if desired. Each path you select appears in the drop-down list.

When you click Restore, you can choose to restore to the path displayed in the box, or to all paths listed in the drop-down list.

IMPORTANT: Applies to NTFS and SQL Security modules only. The alternate restore location must have the same structure as the backup file.
IMPORTANT: Applies to SharePoint Security module only. If the alternate restore location does not have the same structure as the backup file, only the permissions for identical site items are restored. All other permissions are ignored.
6
Available only in the NTFS Security module. Click Advanced to set more options for the restore process. See Setting advanced options for the restore process.

Setting advanced options for the restore process

Available only in the NTFS Security module. On the Advanced Restore Settings dialog, you can filter the back up file to help you find permissions to restore. You also can select how the permissions are restored.

1
On the Restore Security dialog (see Restoring security), click Advanced to set more options for the restore process.

Folder1 = c:\work

skipped

skipped

skipped

Folder2 = c:\work\docs

restored

skipped

skipped

Folder3 = c:\work\test

skipped

restored

skipped

Folder4 = c:\work\test1

skipped

restored

restored

Folder5 = c:\work\test2

skipped

restored

restored

5

Purging backup files

In the NTFS Security module, you can purge backup files.

1
Select Security | Purge Backup.
4
Click OK to purge the files.

Scheduling a backup purge

The Purge Backup Scheduler provides a convenient place in which to create, edit, and delete purge backup jobs.

1
Select Security | Purge Backup Scheduler.
The Purge Backup Scheduler Task List box lists the currently defined purge backup jobs in ascending alphabetical order by computer name.

New

Creates a new task.

1
Select the Create single scheduled task on local machine check box.
NOTE: Only files in the selected folder are deleted; subfolders are not processed.
4
In the Account box, browse to locate an account under which to run the backup. If you do not enter an account, the backup runs under the local system account.
5
Click Schedule.

Edit

Edits the selected task.

Delete

Deletes the selected tasks.

3
Click Close.
Related Documents