Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Security Explorer 9.8 - User Guide

Getting Started with Security Explorer Managing permissions Searching Managing security Managing objects
Managing folders and files Managing shares Managing registry keys Managing services Managing tasks Managing groups and users Managing Favorites Managing Enterprise Scopes Updating licenses Managing network drives
Working with Microsoft SQL Server Working with Microsoft Exchange
Checking minimum requirements Viewing Exchange permissions Granting Exchange permissions Revoking Exchange permissions Cloning Exchange permissions Searching for Exchange server objects and permissions Backing up and restoring Exchange server security Modifying Exchange permissions Managing Exchange group memberships Exporting Exchange security permissions Creating Exchange databases Creating public folder mailboxes Managing Exchange administrators Managing Exchange distribution groups Managing mail contacts Managing mail users Managing mailboxes Managing mailbox folders Managing public folders Using role based access control Setting options for Exchange security
Working with Microsoft SharePoint Working with Access Explorer Working with Microsoft Active Directory Customizing Security Explorer Using the command line Using PowerShell cmdlets Troubleshooting

Modifying SharePoint permissions

To modify SharePoint® permissions
1
Open the SharePoint Security module.
2
Open the Browse tab.
5
Select Security | Modify Permissions.
Click on the Tool Bar; click Modify on the Control Button Bar; or right-click the permission, and choose Modify Permissions.

Modifying SharePoint permissions levels

NOTE: Applies to parent SharePoint® sites only. The Permissions Levels advanced task opens the SharePoint Permission Levels dialog box. Add a path, and click OK.
1
Open the SharePoint Security module.
2
Open the Browse tab.
4
Click Levels.
6
Click Apply.

Repairing limited access permissions

SharePoint® automatically creates Limited Access permissions on a parent object when a new permission is created on a child item. For example, if you create a new Full Control permission on a subobject for AccountX, then SharePoint®, if necessary, automatically creates a Limited Access permission for AccountX on the parent object. If you delete the Full Control permission, the parent Limited Access permission is not automatically deleted. The Repair Limited Access Permissions function cleans up all orphaned Limited Access permissions that should no longer exist.

NOTE: Applies to parent SharePoint sites only. The Repair task opens the Repair Limited Access Permissions dialog box.
1
Open the SharePoint Security module.
2
Open the Browse tab.
4
Select an item in the Objects pane, and select Security | Repair Limited Access Permissions.

Create report (will list changed items)

Select to create a report that lists changed items. Type a file path or browse to locate a path.

Produce report only (i.e. no changes will be made)

Select to create only a report that shows what items would be changed if you ran the Repair Limited Access Permissions process.

Removing permissions on deleted accounts

If you remove an Active Directory® account, the permissions are still retained on the SharePoint® server. Use this feature to remove all permissions associated with deleted Active Directory accounts on a SharePoint site.

NOTE: Applies to parent SharePoint sites only. The Revoke Unknown task opens the Remove Permissions for Deleted Accounts dialog box. Add at least one path, and click OK.
1
Open the SharePoint Security module.
2
Open the Browse tab.
4
Select an item in the Objects pane, and select Security | Remove Permissions for Deleted Accounts.
Click on the Tool Bar; or right-click the item, and choose Remove Permissions for Deleted Accounts.

Remove deleted accounts from SharePoint groups

Select to remove permissions for deleted accounts on the selected SharePoint site.

Create report (will list changed items)

Select to create a report that lists changed items. Type a file path or browse to locate a path.

Produce report only (i.e. no changes will be made)

Select to create only a report that shows what items would be changed if you ran the Remove Permissions for Deleted Accounts process.

Related Documents