Chat now with support
Chat with Support

QoreStor 6.0.0 - User Guide

Introducing the QoreStor documentation Introducing QoreStor Setting up your QoreStor system Configuring QoreStor settings Managing containers Managing storage groups Managing replications Managing Users Managing QoreStor Remotely Monitoring the QoreStor system Support, maintenance, and troubleshooting

Modifying replication relationships

You can modify the following replication settings: encryption and remote container’s IP address/host name settings. To modify settings for an existing replication relationship, complete the following steps.

Caution: You should exercise caution when configuring the direction of replication for source and target containers. For example, target containers can have their contents deleted if they contain existing data.

NOTE: Because you cannot modify an existing defined role (source or target replica) for a replication relationship, if necessary, you must delete the existing replication relationship, and then recreate a new relationship with the specific source and target roles that you want.

  1. In the navigation menu, click Replications.
  2. The configured replications are displayed.

    Using the or toggle in the upper-right corner of the Replications pane, you may switch between tile and grid views.

  3. To edit the replication, click the elipsis icon and click Edit.
    • Tile view - the ellipsis icon is to the right of the source container.
    • Grid View - the ellipsis icon is in the Actions column.
  4. Modify the settings/values for the Source, or Target containers as needed.
    1. For Remote System, modify the IP address/host name and user logon credentials of the source remote system as needed.
    2. Review the replication details, and then click Save.

      NOTE: Replication needs to be stopped before the encryption settings can be modified.

  5. Click Save.

Deleting replication relationships

To delete an existing replication relationship, complete the following steps:

  1. In the navigation menu, click Replications.
  2. The configured replications are displayed.

    Using the or toggle in the upper-right corner of the Replications pane, you may switch between tile and grid views.

    To view more detailed information and additional options, click the elipsis icon and click Delete.

    • Tile view - the ellipsis icon is to the right of the source container.
    • Grid View - the ellipsis icon is in the Actions column.

  3. In the confirmation dialog box, click Delete.

    NOTE: If the deletion fails, you can click Force Delete to force removal of the relationship.

Starting and stopping replication

To start or stop replication in an existing replication relationship, complete the following steps.

  1. In the navigation menu, click Replications.
  2. The configured replications are displayed.

    Using the or toggle in the upper-right corner of the Replications pane, you may switch between tile and grid views.

    To view more detailed information and additional options, click the elipsis icon .

    • Tile view - the ellipsis icon is to the right of the source container.
    • Grid View - the ellipsis icon is in the Actions column.

  3. To stop the replication process, click the Stop icon, and, in the confirmation dialog box, click Yes to stop replication.
  4. To start the replication process, click the Start icon, and, in the confirmation dialog box, click Yes to start replication.

    NOTE: You can also set up replication schedules as needed. For more information see the topic, Configuring replication schedules.

Managing Users

QoreStor gives you the ability to define user roles and assign users to those roles. A user can have more than one role. There are default user roles for the system as well.

QoreStor has the following types of user roles: CIFS, OST, RDA, Secure Connect, and Monitor. For the protocol specific user roles, the user is validated with the protocol credentials when the clients connect.

Refer to these important notes about user management in QoreStor.

  • Excluding the admin, users can have multiple roles.
  • However, OST users are exclusive user roles that can only be assigned to one user at a time.
  • The admin user is a special default user; it cannot be deleted and no new administrator roles can be created.
  • The maximum number of users that can be created for the system is 64.

To view the Users page, on the left navigation menu, click Users.

Related Documents