Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault 12.4 - Administration Guide for Managed Service Providers

Introduction Getting started Configuring clients Managing catalog search Configuring storage devices
About storage devices SAN considerations Quest DR Series systems Quest QoreStor NetVault SmartDisk EMC Data Domain Systems Snapshot Array Manager Virtual Tape Libraries Virtual standalone drives Shared Virtual Tape Libraries Physical tape devices Storage tiers
Backing up data Managing policies Restoring data Managing NetVault Backup dashboard Managing jobs Monitoring logs Managing storage devices
Role-based access to manage storage devices Monitoring device activity Managing disk-based storage devices in list view Managing disk-based storage devices in tree view Managing the Snapshot Array Manager Managing tape libraries in list view Managing tape libraries in tree view Managing tape drives in list view Managing tape drives in tree view Adding shared devices
Managing storage media Managing user and group accounts Managing Tenant Monitoring events and configuring notifications Reporting in NetVault Backup Working with client clusters Configuring default settings for NetVault Backup
About configuring default settings Configuring encryption settings Configuring plug-in options Configuring default settings for post-scripts Configuring default settings for Verify Plug-in Configuring Deployment Manager Settings Configuring Job Manager settings Configuring Logging Daemon settings Configuring Media Manager settings Configuring Network Manager settings Configuring Process Manager settings Configuring RAS device settings Configuring Schedule Manager settings Configuring Web Service settings Configuring Auditor Daemon settings Configuring firewall settings Configuring general settings Configuring security settings Synchronizing NetVault Time Configuring the reporting utility Configuring NetVault Backup WebUI default settings Configuring NetVault Backup to use a specific VSS provider Configuring default settings using Txtconfig
Diagnostic tracing Managing diagnostic data Using the deviceconfig utility NetVault Backup processes Environment variables Network ports used by NetVault Backup Troubleshooting
Common errors Safe Mode in NetVault Backup

Creating a client group

You can group the NetVault Backup Clients into one or more logical entities. A client group can contain all or specific clients. The new clients automatically become members for client groups that are configured to include all clients.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Clients, and then on the Manage Clients page, click Manage Client Groups.
2
On the Client Group Management page, click New Group. On the Client Group page, provide the following information
In Group Name, type a name for the client group.
In Group Description, provide a detailed description for the client group.
To add all clients to the group, select the All Clients check box. When you select this check box, the new clients are automatically added to the group.
To add a specific client, select the target client in the Available Clients table, and click the Add button () to the left of the item. When you click this button, the selected client is moved to the Chosen Clients table.
To remove a client from the group, select the target client in the Chosen Clients table, and click the Remove button () to the left of the item. When you click this button, the selected client is moved to the Available Clients table.
3

Viewing existing client groups

You can view information about the existing client groups from the Client Group Management page. The page displays the group name, number of clients, and the list of member clients.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Clients, and then on the Manage Clients page, click Manage Client Groups.
2
On the Client Group Management page, you can view the existing client groups.
Group name: Displays the name of the client group.
Number of Clients: Displays the number of clients in the group.
Description: Displays description for the client group.

Modifying a client group

You can modify the group name, group description, or group members for an existing client group.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Clients, and then on the Manage Clients page, click Manage Client Groups.
2
On the Client Group Management page, select the applicable client group, and click Edit.

Removing a client group

If a client group is no longer required, you can remove it from the server. You must delete all the client machines in that group before you delete a group.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Clients, and then on the Manage Clients page, click Manage Client Groups.
2
On the Client Group Management page, select the applicable client group, and click Remove.

 

Related Documents