Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault Plug-in for Microsoft Office 365 12.5 - User Guide

Restoring data

Selecting data for a restore

NOTE: Plug‑in for Microsoft Office 365 does not support restoring Client Secret Keys for service principals.
1
When you select a saveset, the following details are displayed in the Saveset Information area: Job ID, job title, server name, client name, plug-in name, saveset date and time, retirement setting, Incremental Backup or not, Archive or not, saveset size, and snapshot-based backup or not.
Restore All Using Defaults: To restore using the prepopulated defaults, click this button, and proceed to Step 6.
Restore: To use the Create Selection Set page to select the items that you want to restore, click this button and proceed to the next step.
5
On the Create Selection Set page, select the data that you want to restore.
If you selected the Enable Granular Restore option for the corresponding backup job, you can expand the applicable nodes to select individual folders and emails for recovery in Outlook or individual files and folders for recovery in OneDrive.
NOTE: Plug‑in for Microsoft Office 365 does not support the restore of on-premises synced users and groups while the sync is enabled.

When you delete on-premises synced Windows Server Active Directory (AD) users from Azure AD after disabling the AD sync, the users restore as an Azure AD users. The administrator then receives an email of duplicate attributes for users that changed to Azure AD users on every sync. If the administrator wants to sync them again as Windows Server AD users, then you must delete the users from Azure AD and sync again.

On the Create Selection Set page, click , and configure the following parameters on the Outlook tab of the Office 365 Restore Options dialog box:

Restore mailbox to particular folder: If you want to specify a specific location to restore the selected mailbox folder to, select this option and enter the name of the folder.
Restore Mailbox Settings: To include the settings and rules associated with the selected mailboxes, select this option.
Exclude attachments: If attachments and inline images were included in the backup, select this option if you want to exclude the attachments and images from the restore.

On the Create Selection Set page, click , and configure the following parameters on the Outlook tab of the Office 365 Restore Options dialog box:

Set password for user(s): The plug-in assigns the default password nvbu123*#$ from the config file to the user. As the administrator, you can use this option to assign the user a different password during restore to match domain policies. This password is set for all users that are restored after being deleted from the Azure AD.
Skip assigned license(s): By default, all licenses that were backup for the Azure AD user will be assigned by restore operation. If you do not want to assign those licenses, select this option.
Delete existing application(s): By default, the previous application associated with a service principal is not deleted from Azure AD on restoring a service principal. If you want to delete the existing application from Azure AD upon restoring the service principal, select this option.

Finalizing and submitting the restore job

The final steps include setting additional options on the Schedule, Source Options, and Advanced Options pages, submitting the job, and monitoring the progress through the Job Status and View Logs pages. These pages and options are common to all NetVault Backup Plug-ins. For more information, see the Quest NetVault Backup Administrator’s Guide.

1
To save the settings, click OK, and then click Next.
2
In Job Name, specify a name for the job if you do not want to use the default setting.
3
Use the Schedule, Source Options, and Advanced Options lists to configure any additional required options.
4
Click Save or Save & Submit, whichever is applicable.
You can monitor progress on the Job Status page and view the logs on the View Logs page. For more information, see the Quest NetVault Backup Administrator’s Guide.

Relocating a mailbox or OneDrive account during the restore process

Relocation is supported at the mailbox or OneDrive user level; it is not supported at the email, file, or folder level.

To complete the relocation process of a mailbox or OneDrive account, perform the following steps.

4
To use the Create Selection Set page to select the mailbox or OneDrive user account that you want to restore, click Restore.
5
On the Create Selection Set page, select the mailbox or OneDrive user account that you want to relocate, and select Rename from the context menu.
6
In the Rename/Relocate dialog box, enter the new location for the mailbox or OneDrive user account in the Relocate box, and click OK.
Related Documents