Metalogix Backup for SharePoint can automatically delete (groom) backup sets based on configured parameters, saving disk space for newer backup sets. Backup sets are groomed based on how many sets already exist, or based on how old the sets are.
If Data Grooming is enabled, Metalogix Backup for SharePoint will look for backup sets to delete from the repository and disk once a day, at the configured time. If an expired set is found, it will be deleted at that time.
If a full backup is older than the maximum retention time in days but is associated with a differential backup that is within the permitted date range, the full backup will not be groomed.
Data grooming preferences can be configured separately for each farm in the Management Console, Management Service Preferences. Grooming options for scheduled backup jobs are also configured here.
It is also possible for Metalogix Backup for SharePoint to keep a specific number of good backups, no matter their age.
When enabling data grooming, it is best to schedule it for a non-peak time when it will not interfere with your enterprise network, as data grooming can be a processor and disk-intensive process.
Steps to activate data grooming
1.From the Management Console workspace selector click Configuration.
2.Select the farm whose Management Service preferences you want to set
3.From the Configuration tab, click Management Service.
4.In the Management Service Preferences window, set the preferences in the Grooming section as follows:
5.Delete backup sets based on count - select this option to delete a predefined number of backup sets.
6.Delete backup sets based on age - select this option to delete a backup set based on the number of days.
7.Check for expired backup sets - if the check box is checked the backup set count that will be determined for deletion will be calculated at the specified local time on the Management service computer.
8.Retain last n log files - if the check box is checked the specified number of log files will be deleted. Console logs will only be deleted after the scheduled grooming time has passed and the console has been closed and reopened
9.Click OK to close the window and save the changes you made to the data grooming settings.