After disabling some of the database rules via the "Rules Management" dashboard, they are re-enabled after a database cartridge upgrade.
If rules are disabled prior to an upgrade on the "Rules Management" dashboard, they will be re-enabled after a cartridge upgrade.
However if the rules have been disabled in the Alarms dashboard in the Administration page, the rules will retain their statuses.
Disable the rules via the Alarms dashboard in the Settings | Administration page. This will make sure that rules retain their original statuses after a cartridge upgrade.