When migrating mailboxes with Groupwise Migrator for Exchange will shared folders be migrated?
Shared folders actually can be migrated and are migrated by default.
The migration program migrates one independent copy to every user who had access to the folder in GroupWise, and the copies are not synchronized in Exchange. After migration each user's copy can be modified independently.
To preserve a true sharing of GroupWise shared folders, you can set the program to migrate only the owner's copy of a shared folder, and not migrate the other users' copies. Then, after migration, the original owner can reset permissions in Exchange to re-establish a truly shared folder.
To set the program to migrate only the owner's copy of a shared folder, enter this line in the [GroupWise] section of gwmigapp.ini (for the Admin-Driven Batch Migrator) or gwdtapp.ini (for the End User-Driven Migrator):
For each program run, the migration program generates an acl.csv file to document the GroupWise ACL data for shared folders. The file is saved to the migration program's log file directory, and after migration an administrator can send the ACL data to the owners of shared folders, so they can manually reset their folder permissions in Exchange.
Unfortunately, the mailbox will need to be manually added to their outlook profile to see the folders.