A device may want to be allocated to the end user after managed by Apple DEP and MDM for the personal usage. In order to do this the following steps should be followed:
Search for the device by serial number in business.apple.com, click the “Release” button and confirm the release, then select the device in MDM and send a factory reset command. But even after following these steps if the device's backup gets restored while it was under the DEP and MDM management, the MDM profile will be restored to the device and it may not be removed by the end user if the DEP policy did not allow it during the initial configuration.
You need to be signed in and under a current maintenance contract to view premium knowledge articles.