Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault Plug-in for Exchange 12.0 - User Guide

Introducing NetVault Backup Plug-in for Exchange Defining an Exchange data protection strategy Planning your Exchange Server deployment Installing and removing the plug-in Configuring the plug-in Backing up data Restoring data Troubleshooting

Removing the plug-in from a standalone deployment

For details on removing the Plug‑in for Exchange in a DAG, SCC, or CCR deployment, see the applicable topic on working with client clusters in the Quest NetVault Backup Administrator’s Guide.

2
On the Manage Clients page, select the applicable client, and click Manage.
3
In the Installed Software table on the View Client page, select Plug‑in for Exchange, and click the Remove Plugin button ().
4
In the Confirm dialog box, click Remove.

Configuring the plug-in

Reviewing Authentication Details: Windows user account permissions

Before initiating a backup, configure the plug-in’s authentication details and select the Backup Method.

The Plug‑in for Exchange uses Windows Authentication to provide essential security and access control for sensitive data contained in an Exchange Server’s databases. Windows Authentication allows you to log in to a specific Windows user account. You can configure this Windows user account to restrict a user’s privileges so that only backups can be performed, or to allow both backups and restores to be performed.

For a user to back up Exchange, the Windows user account used must:

To perform a restore of Exchange, the Windows user account must be a member of the Administrators group on the machine that Exchange is running on.

The Domain Administrator account has all the permissions necessary to perform backup and restore procedures in the Plug‑in for Exchange by default.

NOTE: The NetVault Process Manager Service Log on as account must be a Local System or an Exchange Administrator Account.

Configuring the plug-in

The plug-in lets you set default options for backup and restore jobs. You can override these options on a per-job basis.

1
In the Navigation Pane, click Create Backup Job, and click Create New next to the Selections list.
3
Click Plug‑in for Exchange, and select Configure from the context menu.
The Exchange Server Configuration dialog box is displayed. If the selected node is a Virtual Client for a DAG, the Database Availability Group Name field displays the name of the DAG. The name of the DAG is followed by a check box that lets you enable editing of the DAG name. For all other nodes, the dialog box shows a Server Name field, which displays the machine name of the Exchange Server and cannot be edited.
4
If you are using a Virtual Client for a DAG that does not use a CNO or IP address, do the following:
a
Select the Edit DAG name check box.
b
In the Database Availability Group Name field, enter the name of the DAG.
a
From the Server Role list, select the applicable role:
b
In the Default Backup Method section, select the method to use for this server:
6
In the Authentication Details section, edit the following fields:
Exchange Administrator User Name: Enter either a local or domain Windows account that meets the criteria specified in Reviewing Authentication Details: Windows user account permissions. When the Exchange Server Configuration dialog box is opened, this account is displayed by default in the Exchange Administrator User Name field.
Password: Enter the password associated with the specified user name. For security reasons, this field is displayed blank by default.
Windows Domain: If a domain account is specified in the Exchange Administrator User Name field, enter the name of the domain. The field can be left blank if a local system account is specified. When the Exchange Server Configuration dialog box is opened, this domain is displayed by default in the Windows Domain field.
7
In the Additional Options section, select the default action for Incomplete Backup of All Items Selected.
Complete with Warnings — Saveset Retained: The job returns a status of “Backup Completed with warnings” and a backup saveset is created that includes the items that were successfully backed up.
Complete without Warnings — Saveset Retained: The job completes and returns a status of “Backup Completed.” The errors are logged in the NetVault Backup binary logs and ignored on the Job Status page. A backup saveset is created that includes the items that were backed up.
Fail — Saveset Retained: The job returns a status of “Backup Failed.” However, a backup saveset is generated that includes the items that were successfully backed up.
Fail — No Saveset Retained: The job returns a status of “Backup Failed” and no saveset of backed-up objects is kept. That is, even if some of the objects were successfully backed up, the saveset is discarded.
9
If you must instruct the plug-in to ignore warnings resulting from the Exchange integrity check, select the Ignore Warning when Consistency Check does not Return Operation Results (Not Recommended) check box.
CAUTION: By default, the plug-in returns a warning if results to the consistency check of the Exchange database are not returned. This issue causes backup jobs to Complete with Warnings. If you know that the consistency check cannot return results because of how your Exchange environment is configured, this option lets you instruct the plug-in to ignore the warning. Quest discourages use of this option.
With the authentication details properly configured, you can click the Exchange Server node to display the available Storage Groups/Mailbox Databases.
Related Documents