The settings for existing buckets can be edited on the Object Storage page.When changing bucket settings using this procedure, the changes are applied to new objects. To change retention settings on existing objects, refer to Changing bucket retention.
To edit bucket settings
- On the Containers pane, find the object storage container ObjectContainer. Click the ellipses icon, and click Edit.
- In the Buckets section, find the desired bucket. Right-click on the ellipsis icon and click Bucket Settings.
- In the Locking Mode section, select from one of the options below:
- Compliance - prevents objects from being overwritten or deleted by any user during the specified lock period. When an object is locked in compliance mode, its retention mode can't be changed, and its retention period can't be shortened. Compliance mode ensures that an object version can't be overwritten or deleted for the duration of the retention period.
- Governing - prevents users without the appropriate permissions from overwriting or deleting an object version or altering its lock settings. With governance mode, you protect objects against being deleted by most users, but you can still grant some users permission to alter the retention settings or delete the object if necessary. You can also use governance mode to test retention-period settings before creating a compliance-mode retention period.
- None - provides no object locking.
IMPORTANT: Changes in the locking mode are applied to files written to the container after the change was applied. Existing files are locked according to the locking method in place at the time they were added to the container.
- In the Locking Duration field, select the number and format (days or years) to specify the time that the object lock will be active.
- Click Update.