立即与支持人员聊天
与支持团队交流

Metalogix Replicator 7.4 - Initial Server Sync Prior to Replicating

Initial Server Sync Prior to Replicating

Summary

This document covers how to synchronize your web applications prior to replicating, to ensure that both sides match. For instance, you require the same libraries to exist on both your source and target servers in order for changes made on either to replicate bi-directionally.

Setup can be done by copying an entire content database, by queuing content over from one server to another, or by running a site collection backup command.

Copying an entire content database over from one web application to another is the most complete method of backup. It is ideal for setting up a Disaster Recovery scenario where the DR environment needs to be identical to your main environment.

Queuing content over is the method that is focused on setting up your SharePoint environments with specified content. This method allows you to control what events and content you want queued over from one SharePoint environment to the other. It is the method you want to use if you have existing content on both your web applications that you want to preserve in this case you would queue content over bi-directionally.

Using this command and its frequency depends on a lot of factors like the size of the content, how often content changes, how up-to-date you want the site, etc.

Refreshing a Remote Replication Server from a Backup

This method is the most complete method of backup. It is ideal for setting up a disaster recovery scenario where the disaster recovery environment needs to be identical to your main environment. Use the method described here to get the second web application up and running using a backup of the SharePoint database from the first web application.

This scenario assumes that there are two servers involved: CorporateOffice and LondonOffice.

Configure Replicator to be in Manual mode:

1. Go to Central Administration on the Corporate Office server.

2. Click Application Management

3. Click Manage Map Families

4. Click the appropriate map family

5. Change the schedule for the map family to �manually�

6. Go to central admin on the London Office server

7. Go to Configure Web Application and disable replication.

8. On London office go back to application management then Manage Map families.

9. Delete the map family for the site collection you will restore on the London office.

Behind the Scenes

Once you have completed the preceding steps, the source server, CorporateOffice, is still queuing packages in the background that will later be applied when the destination LondonOffice is up and accessible.
Changes to the web application data, that Replicator tracks, are captured while your backup is in transport. Later in this document you will see how to start replication and force these packages to execute.

Bringing the New Server Up

At this point you are ready to back up your database. You do not need to disable Replicator, but keep in mind that this backup will only be valid for this process, because in the current state you will be backing up Replicator as well.

info

NOTE:If you plan to use this backup for purposes other than this procedure, disable Replicator first on the Configure Web application page.

1. Open SQL Server Management Studio for the source server - CorporateOffice.

2. Right click the content database you wish to back up, and select All Tasks > Backup.

3. Make a full backup, as described in the SQL Server documentation.

4. Once the backup is complete, and ship it to its final destination - in this case, London. Once the backup arrives in London you are ready to restore the database.

5. On the target server, open Central Administration > Application Management for the target server - LondonOffice. Then click manage content databases.
ManageContentDatabases

6. Select the correct web application in the top right hand corner.

7. Then choose the appropriate Content Database.

caution

CAUTION: Take note of the name of the content database, it is an important part of the process to restore the database using the exact same name.

9. Change the Database Status to Offline and select Remove Content Database.

10. Click OK.

自助服务工具
知识库
通知和警报
产品支持
下载软件
技术说明文件
用户论坛
视频教程
RSS订阅源
联系我们
获得许可 帮助
技术支持
查看全部
相关文档