Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Migration Manager for AD 8.15 - Resource Processing Guide

Introduction to Resource Update Distributed Updates in Resource Updating Manager Common Resource Update Workflows Active Directory Processing Exchange Server Processing SMS Processing SQL Server Processing Cluster Server Migration Command-Line Resource Update SharePoint Processing

Viewing Log Files

The Migration Manager RUM Controller service stores all information about its functions in its log file. The log file is called RUMController.log and stored in the %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Common Files\Aelita Shared\Migration Tools\Resource Updating folder (on 64-bit Windows) or in the %ProgramFiles%\Common Files\Aelita Shared\Migration Tools\Resource Updating folder (on 32-bit Windows) on the console computer

NOTES:

  • The Discover computer information, Process computer resources, Move Computer to domain and Cleanup computer actions create log files in the %Program Files%\Common Files\Aelita Shared\Migration Tools\Resource Updating\Logs\[computer_name] folder. Use the View Logs option to view these logs.
  • If you are using a network where NetBIOS protocol is disabled, follow the instructions in Working in a Network Configuration with NetBIOS Protocol Disabled section.

The Migration Manager RUM Agent service also stores all information about its activity in its log file. This log file is called RUMAgent.log and stored in the %WINDOWS%\Quest Resource Updating Agent folder on the computer where the agent is installed.

As soon as all the agents have finished performing the specified tasks, Resource Updating Manager will collect the logs from the computers. To view the collected logs right-click the computer in the right pane of the Resource Updating Manager console and select View Logs.

Interrupting the Process

To interrupt all tasks for a specific collection or category, right-click the collection or category node in the Resource Updating Manager console and select Cancel Tasks.

Resource Updating Manager behaves as follows in situations where processing is interrupted:

  • If you click Cancel Task during a permission update, the computers being processed at that moment will be processed to the end and objects on these computers will have new (target) permissions. Computers for which processing has not started will not be processed, and objects on these computers will keep their old permissions. If you want to completely restore the system state, run Resource Updating Manager to perform the Revert to the original local group membership, user rights, and object permissions action.
  • If you click Cancel while reverting changes, the computers being processed at that moment will be processed to the end and objects on these computers will have source permissions. Computers for which processing has not started will not be processed, and objects on these computers will keep their target permissions. If you want to restore the system state, run Resource Updating Manager to perform the Reassign local group membership, user rights, and object permissions to target users action.
  • If you click Cancel Task during permission cleanup, the computers being processed at that moment will be processed to the end and permissions of the objects on these computers will be cleaned up. Computers for which processing has not started will not be processed, and objects on these computers will be left intact.
  • If multiple tasks are associated with a specific computer and one of the tasks fails, then all subsequent tasks will be cancelled for that computer, and a corresponding error message will be displayed.

User Profile Update

To ensure zero user impact and zero help desk involvement when user accounts are migrated, the target user accounts must have the same profiles as the corresponding source accounts.

For this to occur, two tasks need to be accomplished:

  • The target accounts must gain access to the source profiles (both to the corresponding files and registry keys).
  • The target accounts’ settings must be pointed to the same profiles that the source accounts used.

Migration Manager manages these tasks for both local and roaming profiles, and ensures that at every migration phase, users have access to their personal profiles and settings.

User Profile Basics

A user profile consists of two parts: the key in system registry and the folder on a hard disk which contains user-specific data and desktop settings.

A user profile can be either local or roaming:

  • If user data is stored on a local hard disk, the user profile is local.
  • If user data is stored centrally on a server, the user profile is roaming.

When migrating accounts from one Active Directory domain to another, you can use the Add SIDHistory option to specify that the new accounts should automatically gain all privileges of the source accounts, so no resource update is required for users to start using their new accounts. When the coexistence period is over, you can process all resources, granting the target accounts explicit access, and then clean up SIDHistory and remove the source accounts.

However, adding SIDHistory does not cause the target accounts to use the source profiles. This task requires registry changes, which can be accomplished by using Resource Updating Manager or Resource Kit utilities.

Related Documents