Chat now with support
Tchattez avec un ingénieur du support

NetVault Backup Plug-in for SnapMirror to Tape 11.4.5 - User Guide

Restoring data

Restoring a Standard Backup

Before initiating a restore, the target volume must be configured as restricted. On Clustered Data ONTAP 8.3, the target volume must be of type Data Protection (DP) and this volume must be in restricted state.

You can also change the volume status from the NetApp web interface. For more information, see the relevant NetApp documentation.

1
On the Create Restore Job — Choose Saveset page, the saveset table provides a list of available savesets.

Saveset is online (all segments are online).

Saveset is partially online (some segments are online).

Saveset is offline (all segments are offline).

Client

Displays savesets created for particular clients. The default selection is Any.

2
In the Choose Client dialog box, select the clients.

Plugin Type

Displays savesets created using a particular plug-in. The default selection is Any.

Date

Displays savesets created during a specified period. The default selection is Any.

Job

Displays savesets created for particular jobs. The default selection is Any.

2
In the Choose Job dialog box, select the jobs.
When you select a saveset, the following details are displayed in the Saveset Information area: job ID number, job title, tag, server name, client name, plug-in name, saveset date and time, retirement setting, Incremental Backup or not, archive or not, and saveset size.
3
On the Create Selection Set page, select the volumes you want to restore.
4
Click Edit Plugin Options, and configure the following settings.

NDMP Server

This option specifies the target filer name. It is only required when you want to restore data to an alternate filer. By default, it is set to the name of the original filer from which the data was backed up. Do not change the NDMP Server while restoring data to the same filer.

Break Mirror on Exit

When a snapshot is restored to a volume, a SnapMirror Relationship is established for the volume and the volume is marked as read-only. After the restore job is completed successfully, you must break the relationship and mark the volume as writable.

Select the Break Mirror on Exit check box.
snapmirror break <target volume>
5
Click Save to save the settings, and then click Next.
6
In Job Name, specify a name for the job.
7
In the Target Client list, verify that the client from which data was backed up is selected by default.
Do not change this setting.
For more information about these sets, see the Quest NetVault Backup Administrator’s Guide.
You can monitor the job progress from the Job Status page and view the logs from the View Logs page. For more information about these functions, see the Quest NetVault Backup Administrator’s Guide.
IMPORTANT:  

Restoring Block Level Incremental Backups

This section includes the following topics:

Restoring Incremental Backups

For more information, see Restore procedure. When restoring the Full Backup, do not select the Break Mirror on Exit check box.
For more information, see Restore procedure. When restoring the Incremental Backups, do not select the Break Mirror on Exit check box
IMPORTANT: When restoring the Full or Incremental Backups, if you select the Break Mirror on Exit check box or issue the snapmirror break statement, you cannot restore any additional Incremental Backups in the backup sequence.

A volume must be in a SnapMirror Relationship to restore the Incremental Backups. If you break the SnapMirror Relationship before restoring all Incremental Backups, restore the Full Backup again, and then restore the applicable Incremental Backups.

snapmirror break <target volume>
Documents connexes