Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Toad Data Point 5.0 - User Guide

Specify Sharing and Manage Privileges for Objects

When you publish an object to Toad Intelligence Central, you can specify sharing options if you publish to a non-secured folder. You can choose to keep the object private, make the object public, or share the object with a list of users you specify. After an object is published, you can alter the sharing and manage options at any time. Users with manage privileges to an object can alter the sharing and manage options.

If you publish an object to a secured folder, the folder's sharing and manage specifications are automatically applied to the object. To learn how to specify sharing and manage options for a secured folder, see Folders in Intelligence Central.

Note: This feature is available in the Toad Data Point Professional edition only and requires access to a Toad Intelligence Central server.

To specify Sharing (Visibility) options for an object

  1. To specify Sharing options at the time you publish an object, in the Publish to Intelligence Central dialog, click the Sharing link to go to the Sharing settings page.
  2. To specify Sharing options for an existing object, in the Object Explorer select an object and click . The Alter Visibility dialog opens.
  3. In the Alter Visibility dialog (or Sharing settings page), select whether to share the object or keep it private. You can share the object with all users or define a select group of users. Review the following for additional information:

    Keep this data private

    Select to keep the object private.

    Share this data with any user

    Select to make the object Public.

    Allow any user to manage this Data Table—Select this option to grant manage privileges to all users.

    Share this data with selected users

    Select this option to make the object available to a list of users you specify. Then use the arrows to add selected users (and groups) to the list in the right pane. You can include both individual users and groups.

    Manage—Select this option for each user (or group) to which you want to grant Manage privileges.

    Note: Manage privileges allow the user to drop the object, lock the object, modify the refresh options (snapshots only), and modify the sharing options.

    Create Intelligence Central Group Click to create a new Intelligence Central group. This is useful if you repeatedly share objects with a set of users who do not already form a distinct group. See Create Intelligence Central Group for more information.
    Add Active Directory User

    Click to add a user from an Active Directory domain. See Add Active Directory User or Group for more information.

Tip: You can also view Sharing (Visibility) and Manage options for an object in the Database Explorer. Right-click the object in the Object Explorer and select View Details. Then select the Information tab.

To specify (or view) the Manage privileges for an object

  1. To specify Manage privileges at the time you publish an object, in the Publish to Intelligence Central dialog, click the Sharing link to go to the Sharing settings page.
  2. To specify Manage privileges for an existing object, in the Object Explorer, select an object and click . The Alter Visibility dialog opens.
  3. To give users Manage privileges, in the Alter Visibility dialog (or Sharing Settings page) do one of the following:
    • If you selected Share this data with any user, select the Allow any user to manage this object option.
    • If you selected Share this data with selected users, select the check box in the Manage column for each user (or group) to which you want to grant Manage privileges.
  4. Click Execute to save your changes and close the dialog.

Manage Privileges

Users with Manage privileges can do the following (unless the object is locked):

  • Lock the object
  • Drop the object
  • Modify the object's sharing options
  • Rename the object
  • (Automation scripts and Toad files) Edit the script or file
  • (Snapshot) Refresh snapshot or modify refresh schedule
  • (Automation scripts) Modify schedule
  • (Automation scripts) Change user account for script execution
  • (Views and Automation scripts) Modify the default value for a variable
  • (Data objects) Modify a shared (public) key password
  • (Views) Change the type of Authentication key
  • (Secured folders) Modify the folder's sharing and manage options
  • (Secured folders) Rename or delete the secured folder
  • (Secured folders) Create a subfolder

  

 

Related Documents