Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Spotlight on SQL Server Enterprise 11.7 - Management Pack for SCOM User Guide

Configure | Monitored Files

Spotlight can track the growth of files on monitored Windows Server (Monitored connections). Use this screen to define the files to track (usually log files).

Data from tracked files is reported on the Windows Server | Home Page | Files Panel. Spotlight raises a File - Exceeded Set Size Alarm when a tracked file approaches the maximum file size set on this page. Spotlight raises a critical alarm when the file exceeds the maximum file size set on this page.

Open this screen from the Spotlight Client

  1. Select the Windows Server from Monitored connections.
  2. Click Monitor | Monitored Files.

Select template or connection to configure

Select the Windows connection from the list of available options. Spotlight will show the configuration for that connection. Make changes if required. Optionally use the options at the bottom of the screen to apply the same configuration to other Windows connections or save the configuration as a template.

Alternatively, select a template to configure. The templates you have previously saved for Spotlight Monitored Files configuration are listed. On selecting the template you can view / modify / reapply the template configuration. You can delete or rename the template. For more information, see Configuration templates.

Define the files to track

Select

Select the Override the factory settings option to modify the settings for the selected template or connection.

You can now add files to the list. Click Add to Add File.

The files added to the list are tracked. To change the settings for a selected file, click Edit. To remove a file from the list, select the file and click Remove.

Note: Setting the maximum file size on this page does not prevent the tracked file growing beyond that size.

Clear

Clear the Override the factory settings option to return the settings for the selected template or connection to the Factory Settings. These are the settings that were shipped with Spotlight. The default setting is to track no files.

Reuse this configuration

Click Description
Apply configuration to… Optionally, apply this configuration to other connections.
Save to Template Optionally, save this configuration to a template. Where a template has been selected to configure you will also see options to Delete or Rename the template. For more information on Templates, see Configuration templates.
Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating