Social Migrator 1.0 - Quick Start Guide

Migrate: User Profiles

My Site Host URL: Enter the URL that is specified in the "My Site Host Location" property in SharePoint Central Administration.
Migrate Profile Pictures: Select this checkbox to copy the profile pictures to SharePoint during the migration. You will need to specify the URL where the pictures will be stored in SharePoint. This should be the URL that is already specified in the "My Site Host Location" property in SharePoint Central Administration.
Profile Property Mappings: This is where you assign a SharePoint property for each of the Connections user profile properties. Select Discover SharePoint Properties to retrieve the list of SharePoint properties from the Site defined above.
Select a Connections property from the Unmapped Properties list. Select its corresponding SharePoint property and click Map Selected Properties. These two selected properties will become Mapped Properties and be automatically moved to the Mapped Properties list below.
When you are ready to migrate the user profiles, select Migrate Profiles. The status of the process will be displayed below the Migrate Profiles button.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Migrate: Blogs

Target Site: Your first task is to select the SharePoint site that you will be migrating the blogs to. The easiest way to accomplish this is to use Social Migrator for SharePoint's SharePoint server browser. Click the browse button ... and navigate the SharePoint Virtual Servers, Sites, and Sub-Sites (Web Pages). Select the desired Site. The blog subsite is named using the blog title.
Site Template: SharePoint template to be used during the creation of the new site. The default is "Blog".
Map Permissions: Select this option if you want permissions to be set on the target site. Use of this option requires that you configure the User Mapping Settings described above.
Delete all existing records in target list: Select this option if you to remove all records from the target lists before migrating new content. This option is helpful when running the same migration task more than once, but should be used with caution when targeting production sites where other users may have added or changed things.
When you are ready to migrate the blogs, select Migrate Blogs. The status of the process will be displayed below the Migrate Blogs button.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Migrate: Activities

Target Site: Your first task is to select the SharePoint site that you will be migrating the activities to. The easiest way to accomplish this is to use Social Migrator for SharePoint's SharePoint server browser. Click the browse button ... and navigate the SharePoint Virtual Servers, Sites, and Sub-Sites (Web Pages). Select the desired Site.
Site Template: SharePoint template to be used during the creation of the new site. The default is ’Blank Site.’
Map Permissions: Select this option if you want permissions to be set on the target site. Use of this option requires that you configure the User Mapping Settings described above.
Delete all existing records in target list: Select this option if you to remove all records from the target lists before migrating new content. This option is helpful when running the same migration task more than once, but should be used with caution when targeting production sites where other users may have added or changed things.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Migrate: Bookmarks

Target Site/List: Your first task is to select the SharePoint site and List that you will be migrating the bookmarks to. The easiest way to accomplish this is to use Social Migrator for SharePoint's SharePoint server browser. Click the browse button ... and navigate the SharePoint Virtual Servers, Sites, and Sub-Sites (Web Pages). Select the desired Site and List.
Map Permissions: Select this option if you want permissions to be set on the target site. Use of this option requires that you configure the User Mapping Settings described above.
Delete all existing records in target list: Select this option if you to remove all records from the target lists before migrating new content. This option is helpful when running the same migration task more than once, but should be used with caution when targeting production sites where other users may have added or changed things.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Related Documents