Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Secure Copy 7.5 - User Guide

Using Secure Copy Setting copy options Running copy jobs Using the command line Managing licenses Running Update Utilities Troubleshooting PowerShell cmdlets

Closing the Jobs Progress window

When running a job, you can choose to close the copy window when no errors occur. If you want to keep the window open once you’ve selected the check box, clear the check box here.

1
Click Jobs, and expand the job.
2
Click Performance.
3
Select or clear Close copy window automatically when no errors occur.

Migrating local groups and users

Secure Copy allows an administrator to recreate local groups and users on a target server if the local group or user has permissions on the data that is being copied. When the data is copied, the security shows a SID and an Account Unknown because the local storage area management (SAM) database on the target server does not have an entry for the local group/user on the source server.

NOTE: Secure Copy migrates only local groups and users who already have permissions on the data that is being copied.
NOTE: When migrating a local group, Secure Copy sends an RPC call to the domain controller to validate the groups and the members of the group. In a standard single console migration, the group migration adds to the overhead and thus the time to complete the data migration. It is possible, when using multiple Secure Copy consoles that are each migrating data and thousands of local groups, each with hundreds of members, that Secure Copy can flood a domain controller with RPC requests generating RPC timeout errors.
1
Click Jobs, and expand the job.
2
Click Local Groups and Users.
3
Select Migrate local groups/users to destination server.

Local groups

Migrates local groups from the source to the target.

Local users

Migrates local users from the source to the target.

Copy only local groups and users not files

Migrates only local groups and users accounts. Files are not migrated.

NOTE: Only local groups and users who already have permissions on the source data will be migrated.

Set password for migrated user accounts

Set a new password for the migrated user accounts. Type the new password in the box.

Target server

Migrates local groups and users from the source server to the target server that is indicated on the Copy Locations page.

Active directory

Migrates local groups and users from the source server to an Active Directory® Organizational Unit (OU). Type a path using standard LDAP format in the box, or click Browse to browse for an OU.

Always perform the following action

To avoid conflicts, add a prefix or suffix to the migrated groups/users. Adding a prefix or suffix allows administrators to enforce a standard naming convention, or to differentiate the migrated groups and users from their already existing counterparts.

Use the existing group/user

If a local group/user name already exists on the target, Secure Copy applies those permissions to the migrated data.

Add members of the source group to existing group

Migrates the users of a group on the source server to the group with the same name on the target server.

Synchronize target members with source members

If a local group/user already exists on the target, the source local group/user overwrites the target.

Add the Prefix

Add the Suffix

In cases where there may be multiple local groups/users of the same name and manually renaming the local groups/users when prompted may be unfeasible, such as in the case of a scheduled job, you can have Secure Copy add a prefix or a suffix to the new local group/user name. This gives a uniform naming convention to the new local groups/users and prevents unnecessary user intervention.

Using map files to migrate local groups and users

A map file is a text file that creates a mapping between source and target groups and users. Using a map file gives you greater flexibility in the way that local groups/users are migrated.

Map files are used most commonly when local group/user accounts include the name of the source computer. For example, you need to migrate data from Server1 to Server2. Permission entries on the data include the local groups LocalGroup1_Server1 and LocalGroup2_Server1. If the data is copied using the Migrate Local Groups option, the data is copied to Server2, but the access control lists for the data still reference LocalGroup1_Server1 and LocalGroup2_Server1. Using a map file provides a means of modifying the behavior of the local group migration so that once the job completes, the access control lists for the data reference LocalGroup1_Server2 and LocalGroup2_Server2.

3
Click Jobs, and expand the job.
4
Click Local Groups and Users.
5
Select Migrate Local Groups/Users to Destination Server.
6
Select Specify Map File, and click Browse to locate the map file.

Migrating file shares

Secure Copy allows the migration of file shares from one server to another server or to multiple servers. Secure Copy recreates the file shares of the source server on the target server with share permissions intact, which greatly reduces the time for file share creation on the target server.

Shares whose folders are not specified in the source paths are not copied. In other words, as Secure Copy runs the copy process, it checks each source path and its subfolders to see if they are shared. If so, Secure Copy recreates the share on the target computer and creates the appropriate share permissions as dictated by those of the source.

The sub options are used if the share name already exists or if the share needs to be created.

1
Click Jobs, and expand the job.
2
Click File Shares.
3
Select Migrate file shares to destination server.

Skip It (Ignore)

If a share already exists on the target, Secure Copy does not create the share on the target.

Overwrite (Remove old share, create new one)

If a share already exists on the target, Secure Copy unshares the share on the target, and then writes over it with the source share.

Add the Prefix

Add the Suffix

Type the prefix or suffix to add to the new file share name.

In cases where there may be multiple shares of the same name and you want to recreate the shares using the new folders from the source, but manually renaming the shares when prompted may be unfeasible, such as in the case of a scheduled job, you can have Secure Copy add a prefix or a suffix to the new share name. This gives a uniform naming convention to the new shares and prevents unnecessary user intervention.

NOTE: Applicable only to Microsoft® Cluster Services in the Windows Server® 2003 family.
6
If the source contains a root share folder, such as \\server\sharename, and you want to create that root share folder on the target, select Create root share folder on target. Otherwise, the root share folder is not created on the target.
Related Documents