Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Rapid Recovery 6.1.2 - User Guide

Introduction to Rapid Recovery Core Console Core settings Repositories Encryption keys Protecting machines
About protecting machines with Rapid Recovery Support for dynamic and basic volumes Understanding the Rapid Recovery Agent software installer Deploying Agent to multiple machines simultaneously from the Core Console Using the Deploy Agent Software Wizard to deploy to one or more machines Modifying deploy settings Understanding protection schedules Protecting a machine About protecting multiple machines Settings and functions for protected Exchange servers Settings and functions for protected SQL servers
Managing protected machines Snapshots and recovery points Replication Events Reporting VM export Restoring data Bare metal restore
Bare metal restore for Windows machines Understanding boot CD creation for Windows machines Using the Universal Recovery Console for a BMR Performing a bare metal restore for Linux machines Viewing the recovery progress Starting a restored target server Troubleshooting connections to the Universal Recovery Console Repairing boot problems Performing a file system check on the restored volume
Managing aging data Archiving Cloud storage accounts The Local Mount Utility The Central Management Console Core Console references Command Line Management utility PowerShell module
Prerequisites for using PowerShell Working with commands and cmdlets Rapid Recovery PowerShell module cmdlets Localization Qualifiers
Scripting REST APIs About us Glossary

Changing target Core settings

You can change the host and port settings for individual target Cores from the source Core.

1.
On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] (Replication).

The Replication page appears.

In the Outgoing Replication pane, the summary table includes a row for each target Core that has been configured to replicate recovery points from this source Core.

The Settings dialog box appears.

Table 117. Target Core settings

Option

Description

Host

Enter the host for the target Core.

Port

Enter a port for the target Core to use for communication with the source Core.

4.
Click Save.

Setting replication priority for a protected machine

Replication priority determines which replication jobs are sent to the Core first. Prioritization is set ordinally, on a scale of 1 to 10, where a priority of 1 is the first priority, and a priority of 10 is the last priority. When you first establish replication for any machine, its priority is set to 5. You can view and change priority at the protected machine level from the source Core.

In some cases, it is possible that some replication jobs are abandoned. For example, replication jobs can be abandoned if your environment is experiencing unusually high change rates or if your network does not have enough bandwidth. This situation is particularly likely if you set schedules which limit the hours when replication occurs in your environment. For more information about setting schedules replication, see Scheduling replication.

To ensure replication occurs for important machines first, set critical servers to a priority with a lower number (between 1 and 5). Set priority for less important machines to a higher number (between 6 and 10).

Setting replication priority to 4 for any protected machine assures its replication job is started before a machine with the default replication priority of 5. Replication jobs for machines with a priority of 3 are queued before 4, and so on. The lower the priority number, the sooner its replication jobs are sent. It is easy to remember that priority 1 is most important. Machines with a replication priority of 1 are the first machines queued for replication.

Complete the steps below to edit the settings that prioritize when a protected machine replicates.

1.
On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] (Replication).
The Replication page appears.
2.
In the Outgoing Replication pane, click the [Expand] arrow to the right of any source Core.
4.
Click the Priority drop-down list and select a priority, from 1 (Highest) to 10 (Lowest), based on your requirements.
5.
Click Save.

Removing replication

Replication is the intentional duplication of recovery points for a protected machine from one Rapid Recovery Core (the source Core) to a second Core (the target).

The goal of replication is to maintain a high-availability duplicate of data for the original protected machine. For optimum data security, Quest recommends locating the target Core at a separate geographic location.

Unless you change the default behavior by setting a replication schedule, the Core starts a replication job immediately after completion of every backup snapshot, checksum check, attachability check, and the nightly jobs. For more information, see Scheduling replication.

When you remove replication, you discontinue further copying of recovery points from the source to the target Core. Removing replication never affects the data saved on the original (source) Core.

Also, when you remove replication, you have the option of leaving the replicated recovery points from the original machine on your target Core, or deleting them. If you retain the recovery points for a replicated machine that you remove, the recovery points for that machine are then represented in the Core as a recovery points-only machine. You can browse data from those retained recovery points, or restore files at the file level, while they persist on the target Core.

You can remove replication using any of the following approaches:

Removing outgoing replication from the source Core

Complete the steps in this procedure to remove one or more protected machines from replication on the source Core.

1.
On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] (Replication).

The Replication page appears.

In the Outgoing Replication pane, the summary table includes a row for each target Core that has been configured to replicate recovery points from this source Core.

4.
In the resulting dialog box, click Yes to confirm removal.
Related Documents