Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Rapid Recovery 6.1.2 - DocRetriever for SharePoint User Guide

Introduction to DocRetriever for SharePoint Installing and configuring DocRetriever
System requirements Supported items Roadmap for installing DocRetriever for SharePoint Obtaining DocRetriever installation software Guidelines for upgrading DocRetriever for SharePoint Setting up Windows user accounts for use with DocRetriever Installing, uninstalling, and repairing DocRetriever for SharePoint Creating a local service database for DocRetriever Configuring DocRetriever Console settings Manually specifying the SharePoint database location
Recovering SharePoint data with DocRetriever Working with DocRetriever log files About us Glossary

Configuring DocRetriever Console settings

The DocRetriever Console has configurable settings in two categories:

General details. These settings lets you view the location of files for DocRetriever configuration logs and settings, and to affect how content appears and behaves in the DocRetriever Console once you have opened a data source.

Restore settings. Restore settings let you select default behavior for restoring data using the DocRetriever Console. These settings are defaults which you can override any time you restore data.

Configuring general details settings in the DocRetriever Console

Use the steps in this procedure to configure general details settings in the DocRetriever Console.

2.
From the Settings menu, select Options.

The Settings dialog box appears.

General details options are displayed in the Settings dialog box.

Table 7. General details settings

Setting

Description

Log Settings

Displays the path of log settings for DocRetriever activities. Clicking on the link for the path will open the DRLog.log file in a text document.

The default path is C:\ProgramData\AppRecovery\Logs\DRLog.log.

You can change the location when you install the DocRetriever Console.

View Settings

These settings affect how content appears and behaves in the DocRetriever Console once you have opened an offline backup of a SharePoint data from any source.

Ask what to do when closing database. If this option is selected, then when the database is closed, the action selected occurs by default. The choices include:

Perform full database tree enumeration on open. If this option is selected, then when a particular offline backup is opened, all the sites and sub-sites contained in the database are populated. This allows users to browse the Sharepoint content by expanding the database tree on the left hand side. The initial load time is longer, but browsing through the hierarchy of items within sites then takes less time.

If you do not select this option, then when a user expands a site or sub-site, DocRetriever performs a call to the recovery source and requests the information. Initial load time is shorter, but browsing through the hierarchy of sites takes longer for each site as the information is retrieved.

Show deleted items. If this option is selected, then all items that have been deleted from the offline backup are shown (along with items that have not been deleted) when browsing content in the DocRetriever Console. A red X marks each item that has been deleted or placed in the recycling bin, to differentiate it from other items.

Grouped. If selected, then items will be grouped by type in the SharePoint view in the DocRetriever Console. For example, images, ASP applications, attached documents, and so on will each be grouped together when browsing content in the DocRetriever Console.

Search original location. If selected, then when data is restored, each list item is shown in the site collection and its position is also marked in the general topology.

Settings file

Displays the path of the DocRetriever configuration settings file. Clicking on the URL link for the path will open the settings.xml file (in a web browser or in the default application for XML files on your machine).

The default path is C:\ProgramData\DocRetriever\Settings.xml.

Language

Selects the display language for the DocRetriever user interface.

The general details settings are saved, and the Settings dialog box closes.

Configuring default restore settings in the DocRetriever Console

When restoring SharePoint data using DocRetriever, if you notice a pattern in which you frequently need to specify the same set of restore options such as restore direction, duplicate actions, or merging containers, then you can set defaults for these settings in the DocRetriever Console. Default settings can still be changed each time you perform a restore.

Use the steps in this procedure to configure default restore settings in the DocRetriever Console.

2.
From the Settings menu, select Options.

The Settings dialog box appears.

Restore settings options are displayed in the Settings dialog box.

Table 8. Restore settings

Setting

Description

Direction

Sets the default restore direction. Includes two settings:

In place (restore to the original location). Used when restoring an item from the backup to its original location in the live SharePoint site.

Out of place (migrate items to another location). Used when moving or copying items from their original location in the backup of a SharePoint application to a new location.

For more information about restore directions, see About restore directions for recovered data.

Duplicate actions

The duplicate actions setting determines how DocRetriever manages duplicate items when restoring in place.

Skip. When you select this setting as the duplicate action, you direct DocRetriever to skip the file; in other words, if a file in the offline backup also appears in the live SharePoint site, you are directing DocRetriever not to restore the item from the backup.

Overwrite. When you select this setting as the duplicate action, you direct DocRetriever to overwrite a file in the live SharePoint site with the object of the same name from the offline backup.

Create Duplicate. When you select this setting as the duplicate action, you direct DocRetriever to restore the object from the backup to the live SharePoint site as a copy. The restored item name will be incremented. For example, if the object is a list called Stone Arrows, the restored duplicate will be named Stone Arrows1.

Once set, the default duplicate action can be changed using the Duplicate Actions menu, found in the Review Restore Parameters page of the Restore Wizard.

Container actions

Merge containers. If you select this setting, then by default, when restoring data, the restored item will be placed in the live SharePoint site in containers with the same names as the containers in the offline backup.

Object types

These settings affect the default state of settings in the Restore Wizard. Each time you restore data, you can change these default settings in the wizard to affect how the data in that restore process is performed.

Deleted. If DocRetriever Console restore settings are configured to show deleted items, then when this option is selected, the default behavior for each instance of restoring data is to restore deleted items. If this option is cleared, then deleted items will not be restored.

Permissions. If this option is selected, then when data is restored, the default behavior is for any users restored from the backup to retain the permissions they were granted at the time of backup. If this option is cleared, then the default behavior is for restored users to lose the permissions they previously held.

5.
When satisfied, select Use as default, and then click Save.

The restore settings are saved and the settings dialog box closes.

CAUTION: Unless you select Use as default and then click Save, default restore settings you establish will not take effect. Be sure to include this step each time you set default restore settings.

Manually specifying the SharePoint database location

When working with DocRetriever for SharePoint, you must sometimes manually specify location of the SharePoint database. For example, you need to specify the database location when using Rapid Snap for Virtual to agentlessly protect a machine on your Rapid Recovery Core.

Steps for manually specifying the database differ based on your recovery source location. For example, one procedure is used if opening your farm from a mounted recovery point. A different procedure is used if opening the farm from a local directory. A separate procedure is used if opening content database from a local directory.

Related Documents