Quest has been named as an ASP "Ten Best Web Support Sites" award winner. Learn more.

Rapid Recovery 6.0.2 - User Guide

*** Legend Introduction to Dell Data Protection | Rapid Recovery Understanding the Rapid Recovery Core Console Working with repositories Managing Rapid Recovery Core settings Using custom groups Working with encryption keys Protecting machines using the Rapid Recovery Core Working with Microsoft Exchange and SQL Servers Protecting server clusters Exporting protected data to virtual machines Managing protected machines Understanding replication Managing events Generating and viewing reports Restoring data Understanding bare metal restore for Windows machines Retention and archiving Managing cloud accounts Working with Linux machines Understanding the Local Mount Utility Central Management Console Understanding the Rapid Recovery Command Line Management utility Understanding the Rapid Recovery PowerShell module
Prerequisites for using PowerShell Working with commands and cmdlets Rapid Recovery PowerShell module cmdlets Localization Qualifiers
Extending Rapid Recovery jobs using scripting Rapid Recovery APIs Glossary

Setting replication priority for a protected machine

Replication priority determines which replication jobs are sent to the Core first. Prioritization is set ordinally, on a scale of 1 to 10, where a priority of 1 is the first priority, and a priority of 10 is the last priority. When you first establish replication for any machine, its priority is set to 5. You can view and change priority at the protected machine level from the source Core.

In some cases, it is possible that some replication jobs are abandoned. For example, replication jobs can be abandoned if your environment is experiencing unusually high change rates or if your network does not have enough bandwidth. This situation is particularly likely if you set schedules which limit the hours when replication occurs in your environment. For more information about setting schedules replication, see Scheduling replication.

To ensure replication occurs for important machines first, set critical servers to a priority with a lower number (between 1 and 5). Set priority for less important machines to a higher number (between 6 and 10).

Setting replication priority to 4 for any protected machine assures its replication job is started before a machine with the default replication priority of 5. Replication jobs for machines with a priority of 3 are queued before 4, and so on. The lower the priority number, the sooner its replication jobs are sent. It is easy to remember that priority 1 is most important. Machines with a replication priority of 1 are the first machines queued for replication.

Complete the steps below to edit the settings that prioritize when a protected machine replicates.

  1. On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] (Replication).
    The Replication page appears.
  2. In the Outgoing Replication pane, click the [Expand] arrow to the right of any source Core.
    The view expands to show each of the protected machines from this source Core that are being replicated to the designated target Core.
  3. Click the [Settings] (Settings) drop-down menu for the protected machine you want to prioritize, and then click Settings.
    A dialog box appears.
  4. Click the Priority drop-down list and select a priority, from 1 (Highest) to 10 (Lowest), based on your requirements.
  5. Click Save.
    The dialog box closes, and the replication priority for the selected machine updates.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Removing replication

Replication is the intentional duplication of recovery points for a protected machine from one Rapid Recovery Core (the source Core) to a second Core (the target).

The goal of replication is to maintain a high-availability duplicate of data for the original protected machine. For optimum data security, Dell recommends locating the target Core at a separate geographic location.

Unless you change the default behavior by setting a replication schedule, the Core starts a replication job immediately after completion of every backup snapshot, checksum check, attachability check, and the nightly jobs. For more information, see Scheduling replication.

When you remove replication, you discontinue further copying of recovery points from the source to the target Core. Removing replication never affects the data saved on the original (source) Core.

Also, when you remove replication, you have the option of leaving the replicated recovery points from the original machine on your target Core, or deleting them. If you retain the recovery points for a replicated machine that you remove, the recovery points for that machine are then represented in the Core as a recovery points-only machine. You can browse data from those retained recovery points, or restore files at the file level, while they persist on the target Core.

You can remove replication using any of the following approaches:


Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Removing outgoing replication from the source Core

Complete the steps in this procedure to remove one or more protected machines from replication on the source Core.

  1. On the source Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] (Replication).

    The Replication page appears.

    In the Outgoing Replication pane, the summary table includes a row for each target Core that has been configured to replicate recovery points from this source Core.

  2. Optionally, click the [Expand] arrow to the right of any target Core.
    The view expands to show each of the protected machines from this source Core that are being replicated to the designated target Core.
  3. Select the protected machines you want to remove from outgoing replication as follows:
    • To completely remove the existing replication relationship between this source Core and any target Core, click the [Settings] (Settings) drop-down menu for any target Core, and then select Delete.
    • To remove outgoing replication for a subset of machines in the specified target Core, expand the view to show all machines being replicated, and select the check box for each replicated machine that you want to remove. Clear the checkbox for any machine you want to continue replicating. Then, from the menu above the summary table, click [Delete] Delete.
    A confirmation message appears asking if you want to remove the replication relationships.
  4. In the resulting dialog box, click Yes to confirm removal.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Removing incoming replication from the target Core

Complete the steps in this procedure to remove one or more protected machines from replication on the target Core.

Note: You can also remove replication of protected machines from the Outgoing Replication pane on the Replication page of the source Core. For more information, see Removing outgoing replication from the source Core
  1. On the target Core, open the Rapid Recovery Core Console, and from the icon bar, click [Replication] (Replication).
    The Replication page appears. In the Incoming Replication pane, the summary table includes a row for each source Core with protected machines that this target Core replicates.
  2. Select the replicated machines to remove as follows:
    • To delete all machines replicated from the source Core to your target Core, in the Incoming Replication pane, select the check box for that Core.
    • To delete a smaller subset of machines from the same source Core, do the following:
    1. Click the [Expand] arrow to the right of the source Core.
      The view expands to show each of the machines from the selected source Core that are replicated on your target Core.
    2. Select the check box for each replicated machine that you want to remove.
    3. From the parent row of the selected source Core, click the [Settings] (Settings) drop-down menu, and then select Delete.
      The Remove Replication dialog box appears.
  3. In the Remove Replication dialog box, do one of the following:
    • If you want to leave the replicated recovery points on the target Core, clear the option Delete existing recovery points .
    • If you want to delete all replicated recovery points received from that machine as well as remove the source core from replication, select Delete existing recovery points.
  4. Click Yes to confirm deletion.
    Warning: If you select this option, all of the recovery points replicated to this Core will be deleted.
    The selected machines protected on the source Core are removed from replication on this target Core. Optionally, if you selected the option to delete recovery points, they are removed from the repository of this Core.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Related Documents