Quest has been named as an ASP "Ten Best Web Support Sites" award winner. Learn more.

Rapid Recovery 6.0.2 - User Guide

*** Legend Introduction to Dell Data Protection | Rapid Recovery Understanding the Rapid Recovery Core Console Working with repositories Managing Rapid Recovery Core settings Using custom groups Working with encryption keys Protecting machines using the Rapid Recovery Core Working with Microsoft Exchange and SQL Servers Protecting server clusters Exporting protected data to virtual machines Managing protected machines Understanding replication Managing events Generating and viewing reports Restoring data Understanding bare metal restore for Windows machines Retention and archiving Managing cloud accounts Working with Linux machines Understanding the Local Mount Utility Central Management Console Understanding the Rapid Recovery Command Line Management utility Understanding the Rapid Recovery PowerShell module
Prerequisites for using PowerShell Working with commands and cmdlets Rapid Recovery PowerShell module cmdlets Localization Qualifiers
Extending Rapid Recovery jobs using scripting Rapid Recovery APIs Glossary

Removing a machine

When you remove a machine from protection on the Rapid Recovery Core, you are presented with two options: you can keep the recovery points saved thus far to the RR Core, or you can remove the recovery points. If you keep the recovery points, you have what is known as a “recovery points only” machine. Using those recovery points for the machine that has been removed from current protection, you can continue to restore the machine in the future, but only up to the state captured in a saved recovery point.

If you remove the recovery points, this action deletes any snapshot data for that formerly protected machine from the Rapid Recovery Core.

CAUTION:
If you delete recovery points, you will no longer be able to restore data for that machine.

Complete the steps in the following procedure to remove a machine from protection in your Rapid Recovery environment.

  1. From the Rapid Recovery Core Console, in the left navigation pane under Protected Machines, click the machine you want to remove.
  2. On the Summary page for the relevant machine, click Remove Machine.
  3. In the dialog box, if you want to also delete all recovery points for this machine from the repository, select Remove with recovery points.
  4. To confirm your choice to remove the machine, click Yes.
    Rapid Recovery removes the machine from protection and cancels all active tasks for that machine.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Canceling operations on a machine

You can cancel currently executing operations for a machine. You can specify to cancel just a current snapshot or to cancel all current operations, which would include exports, replications, and so on.

  1. From the Rapid Recovery Core Console, in the left navigation area under Protected Machines, click the machine for which you want to cancel operations.
  2. Click the Events.
  3. Click the Job Details icon on the far right for the in-progress event or operation that you want to cancel.
  4. In the Monitor Active Task dialog box, click Cancel.

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Viewing license information on a machine

You can view current license status information for the Rapid Recovery Agent software installed on a protected machine.

  1. From the Rapid Recovery Core Console, under Protected Machines , click the machine that you want to modify.

    The Summary page for the selection machine appears.

  2. Click the Settings menu.

    The Settings page appears, showing configuration settings for the selected machine.

  3. Click the Licensing link to scroll down in the Settings page to view machine-specific licensing settings.

    The Status screen appears and presents the following details about the product licensing:

    • Expiration Date
    • License Status
    • License Type
    • Agent Type

Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Managing snapshots and recovery points

A recovery point is a collection of snapshots taken of individual disk volumes and stored in the repository. Snapshots capture and store the state of a disk volume at a given point in time while the applications that generate the data are still in use. In Rapid Recovery, you can force a snapshot, temporarily pause snapshots, and view lists of current recovery points in the repository as well as delete them if needed. Recovery points are used to restore protected machines or to mount to a local file system.

The snapshots that are captured by Rapid Recovery are done so at the block level and are application aware. This means that all open transactions and rolling transaction logs are completed and caches are flushed to disk before creating the snapshot.

Rapid Recovery uses a low-level volume filter driver, which attaches to the mounted volumes and then tracks all block-level changes for the next impending snapshot. Microsoft Volume Shadow Services (VSS) is used to facilitate application crash consistent snapshots.


Was this topic helpful?

[Select Rating]



Related Documents