Your target tenant might already host SharePoint top-level sites (site collections) or subsites created before the migration. Refer to the table below to see the migration action that will be used depending on the existing site properties and the selected migration options.
||Merge, all supported properties will be overwritten using source settings|
||Create and migrate|
||Skip and report|
||Create and migrate|
Merging and Re-Migration Considerations
- Migration will be skipped if default language of the existing target site is not the same as the source.
- Subsites based on unsupported site templates are skipped
- System settings including site columns, content types etc. from the source will overwrite settings that were changed on the target.
- New site structure including list item and docs that only exist on the target remains unchanged.
- If a new list item with the same name is added on both source and target, the source item will be migrated and added as a separate item (i.e. target will have two items with identical names).
- If a new document with the same name is added on both the source and target, the migration of the source item will be skipped, and the warning that the item already exists on the target is reported. Document libraries only allow one document per name.
- For previously migrated list items and docs (same name and ID):
- Updates on source will be migrated to the target
- Updates to target will be overwritten by re-migrated source item or document
- System libraries like Site Pages are always cleared before a re-migration. Any new files added only to the target will be deleted from the target as part of the re-migration.
Currently, only the latest versions of documents and list items are migrated. In case of re-migration, please consider the following:
- The migrated document is always replaced, document version remains unchanged.
- The list item is always replaced and list item version remains unchanged, unless Create a new version each time you edit an item in the list list versioning setting is enabled. If this setting is enabled, the remigrated list item will be added as new version.
SharePoint Migration Dashboard
Using this intuitive interface you can:
- Keep track of your location within project and quickly return to the main project dashboard using breadcrumbs on the top of the pane
- View list of discovered site collection with last information, completed workflows, site collection information, and last events related to the site collection
- Quickly navigate to the event lists
- Quickly navigate to the tasks list
- Create discovery tasks, matching tasks, and site collection migration tasks
- Export feature data into comma-separated file and use this file for manual mapping
- Temporarily remove sites from migration project
- Search site collection
- Filter site collection by workflow, or by matching state
- Delete site collection
- It is highly recommended to match / migrate all accounts in the corresponding Migration project to ensure that membership and content ownership are processed correctly.
- The target tenant should already have the fully configured SharePoint with the active license plan. Note, that licenses are not automatically assigned to the target users during the migration.
- Consents already get granted for source and target tenants.
The following admin consents should be granted for SharePoint migration feature:
- Migration - Basic,
- Migration - SharePoint
In case necessary admin consents are not granted or expired, discovery will be disabled and the following notification will be displayed: Grant admin consent to the Migration module on the Tenants page for both source and target tenants: Basic and SharePoint. To grant admin consents open Tenants page and grant necessary Required Permissions to allow the product to access the source tenant and the target tenant. You will be redirected to the Microsoft web site for granting admin consent. Once admin consent is granted, you can start discovering site collections.