Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Welcome, Quadrotech customers to Quest Support Portal click here for for frequently asked questions regarding servicing your supported assets.

On Demand Migration Current - Administrator Guide

About On Demand Migration Before You Start Working with On Demand Migration Starting Migration Project Configuring Connections Sharing Availability Information Collecting Account Information Pre-Migration Assessment Account Migration Hybrid Account Migration Domain Coexistence Mail Migration OneDrive Migration Resource Processing Public Folders Migration SharePoint Migration Microsoft Teams Migration Content Migration for Office 365 Groups Troubleshooting Finalizing the Migration

Sharing Permission Considerations

Sharing permissions can be transferred for Office 365 groups, security groups and user accounts that have matches on the target tenant. The sharing permissions of the groups and users that have no match on the target tenant will be ignored and related warnings are reported.

Migration of permissions granted to users using Sharing Links is supported if the Convert Sharing Link permissions to direct permissions option is selected. The sharing link migration process does not create new links on the target but grants target users direct permissions that were provided by the link to paired users on the source. Users can access their shared content through the Shared With Me panel. Some restrictions apply. If the Convert Sharing Link permissions to direct permissions option is selected, some link sharing permissions will not migrate properly if the user has shared this file or folder with more than 30 users. Only 30 users will have permissions from the Sharing Links, while others will not be processed due to Microsoft limitation.

In case any sharing permission will be removed on the source after the file or folder is migrated, the links to this file or folder are still visible in Shared with me and Shared by me views on OneDrive for Business Online, but the file or folder cannot be accessed.

NOTE:

  • Group permissions are not displayed in Shared with me view because Microsoft currently does not support this functionality.
  • For shared folders, only the top level folder is displayed in the folder tree.

For migrated files and folders that do not exist in target before migration, source permission will always be used.

Consider the following specifics on how file sharing permissions will be handled for migrated files and folders that exist in target before migration:

For users as permission holder (internal/external) and groups as permission holder (Office 365 group or security group) sharing permissions will be handled as follows:

  • For files if Overwrite target files for selected migration... option is selected, source file sharing permission will be used.
  • For files if Skip if the target file is the same version or newer option is selected, target file sharing permission will be used.
  • For folders if Skip if the target file is the same version or newer or Overwrite target files for selected migration... option is selected, target sharing permission will be used as a base, any addition of permissions inside the source will be added onto the target.

For existing files and folders, the inherited permissions will follow the same rules.

 

Tracking OneDrive Migration

Open the OneDrive tab, Insights view for summary reports of the migration progress. The following summary reports are available:

OneDrive Users

  • The total number of OneDrive users to migrate.
  • The number of OneDrive users matched and not matched.
  • The number of Provisioned users.

Migration Progress

Reports on the status of the migration of OneDrive users. It is updated in real time.

   
Last Run Status Data from the last run status: new, in progress, completed, failed, stopped. This data relates to the Last Run Status on the List View tab.
Progress of Started Users

Started Users = The users listed on the List View tab with Migration Progress % greater than zero.

The bar chart shows the Migration Progress % for users. It shows how many users have Migration Progress % at fewer than 50%, 50% to 95%, 95% to 99%, and 100%. For example, if the diagram shows 63 users at 100% then 63 users have Migration Progress % value of 100%.

How is Migration Progress % calculated? It is calculated as a ratio of the number of target items to the number of source items. If 10 items have migrated to the target and there are 100 items to be migrated on the source then the ratio for that user Migration Progress % is 10%.

Average % for started users This is the average Migration Progress % value for users on the List View.

 

Migration Statistics

  • Total migration file size for entire project (last 14 days)
  • Total migration file count for entire project (last 14 days)

Depending on selected migration options, file size, and number of permissions, the content of OneDrive storages is transferred in separate batches that can be submitted for processing to Microsoft OneDrive at the same time. These batches will be processed concurrently, it can take a while before Microsoft OneDrive complete processing of submitted batches. To help tracking current status for every user, the following statistics events are currently supported:

  • Aggregated statistics for batches that are processed will be reported every 5 minutes for every OneDrive storage selected for migration task. This events contain batch processing statistics and information on batch packages that are queued or processed by Microsoft OneDrive more than 30 minutes, if any.
  • Batch package status is reported separately for all batches that are not transferred by Microsoft OneDrive in more than 30 minutes after submission. The status is retrieved for batches that are queued or processed by Microsoft more than 30 minutes only. Depending on Microsoft processing speed the status can be "Queued" or "Processing".

Resource Processing

Once the account migration is complete, you might want to grant target accounts access to source tenant’s resources and applications.

Basic resource processing workflow consists of the following steps:

IMPORTANT: Resource processing does not copy resources to the target tenant. It simply provides the access to source resources by creating a linked guest user in the source for each migrated / matched target account. These guest users are granted the same permissions as the corresponding source accounts and become members of the same SharePoint groups.
Only permissions directly granted to the source account are transferred.

Refer to the Processing Resources for step by step instruction how to configure resource processing.

 

 

Processing Resources

On Demand Migration can process the following resources on the source tenant:

  • Microsoft SharePoint
  • Resource roles related to selected accounts
  • Applications assigned to selected accounts.

To create a new processing task:

  1. Go to the migration project Dashboard in case you use new migration UI. In case you are using classic experience or you are already on the account migration Dashboard, go to step 3.
  2. Click Accounts widget.
  1. Select accounts for which you want to process the resources on Accounts tab.
  2. Click Process Resources
  3. Specify the affected resources:
  1. Process SharePoint

Provide the root URL of the SharePoint site. Refer to Processing SharePoint for details on site configuration and required permissions.

  1. Process resource roles

Process Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) roles for current Azure subscriprion.

  1. Process application assignment

Refer to the Processing Application Assignments for details.

  1. Process azure group membership

Select this option so target users are granted access to source systems when an Active Directory group they are a part of is granted access. The process identifies the Active Directory groups the selected users (on the source) are part of and adds the target users to those groups.

  1. Click Next to proceed.
  2. Schedule when the task will be started. See Task Scheduling for details. Click Next to view the task summary.
  3. Check selected options and name the task. Click Finish to save or start the task depending on schedule option selected.

The task is created. You can track its progress in the Tasks, view the summary on the Dashboard or monitor alerts and notifications in the Events.

Related Documents