Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault 11.3 - Administration Guide

Introduction Getting started Configuring clients Configuring storage devices Backing up data Managing policies Restoring data Managing jobs Monitoring logs Managing storage devices
Monitoring device activity Managing disk-based storage devices in table view Managing disk-based storage devices in tree view Managing tape libraries in table view Managing tape libraries in tree view Managing tape drives in table view Managing tape drives in tree view Adding shared devices
Managing storage media Managing user accounts Monitoring events and configuring notifications Reporting in NetVault Backup Working with client clusters Configuring default settings for NetVault Backup
About configuring default settings Configuring encryption settings Configuring plug-in options Configuring default settings for post-scripts Configuring default settings for Verify Plug-in Configuring Deployment Manager Settings Configuring Job Manager settings Configuring Logging Daemon settings Configuring Media Manager settings Configuring Network Manager settings Configuring Process Manager settings Configuring RAS device settings Configuring Schedule Manager settings Configuring Web Service settings Configuring Auditor Daemon settings Configuring firewall settings Configuring general settings Configuring security settings Synchronizing NetVault Time Configuring default settings for global notification methods Configuring the reporting utility Configuring NetVault Backup to use a specific VSS provider Configuring default settings using NetVault Configurator Configuring default settings using Txtconfig
Diagnostic tracing Using the deviceconfig utility NetVault Backup processes Environment variables Network ports used by NetVault Backup Troubleshooting

Manually purging the log messages

Log messages that are older than 30 days are automatically purged from the database. You can also manually delete the log messages by using the Purge Logs method available on the View Logs page.

2
On the View Logs page, click Purge.
3
In the Purge Logs dialog box, configure the following option:
Delete log entries before: Type or select the date and time to delete all log messages created before the specified time.
4
Click Purge.

Setting up a user-defined log event

To receive notifications when a log message is generated, you can set up a user-defined log event for that message. You can configure user-defined log events from the View Logs page. The user-defined log events are added to the Log Daemon event class.

3
In the Set Log Event dialog box, configure the following options.

Event Name

Specify a name for the log event.

Event Description

Provide a detailed description for the event.

4
Click Set Event.

Removing a user-defined log event

You can delete a user-defined log event if is no longer required. This task can be performed from the View Logs page.

3
In the Set Log Event dialog box, click Remove.

Managing storage devices

Related Documents