Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault 11.3 - Administration Guide

Introduction Getting started Configuring clients Configuring storage devices Backing up data Managing policies Restoring data Managing jobs Monitoring logs Managing storage devices
Monitoring device activity Managing disk-based storage devices in table view Managing disk-based storage devices in tree view Managing tape libraries in table view Managing tape libraries in tree view Managing tape drives in table view Managing tape drives in tree view Adding shared devices
Managing storage media Managing user accounts Monitoring events and configuring notifications Reporting in NetVault Backup Working with client clusters Configuring default settings for NetVault Backup
About configuring default settings Configuring encryption settings Configuring plug-in options Configuring default settings for post-scripts Configuring default settings for Verify Plug-in Configuring Deployment Manager Settings Configuring Job Manager settings Configuring Logging Daemon settings Configuring Media Manager settings Configuring Network Manager settings Configuring Process Manager settings Configuring RAS device settings Configuring Schedule Manager settings Configuring Web Service settings Configuring Auditor Daemon settings Configuring firewall settings Configuring general settings Configuring security settings Synchronizing NetVault Time Configuring default settings for global notification methods Configuring the reporting utility Configuring NetVault Backup to use a specific VSS provider Configuring default settings using NetVault Configurator Configuring default settings using Txtconfig
Diagnostic tracing Using the deviceconfig utility NetVault Backup processes Environment variables Network ports used by NetVault Backup Troubleshooting

Deleting job definitions

If a job definition is no longer required, you can remove it from the NetVault Database. If a job is active, you cannot delete its definition until you cancel the job. Similarly, if a job is schedule to run later, you cannot delete its definition until you cancel the job schedule.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Job Definitions.
3
Click Remove, and in the confirmation dialog box, click OK.

Viewing job history

You can view the completed jobs from the Job History page. The page shows all the instances that have run for the jobs. When viewing job history, you can use one or more filters to display jobs that match the specified criteria.

2
On the Job History page, you can view the job history records that are available in the NetVault Database.
NOTE: You can also access this page from the Job Status page. You can select a job on the Job Status page, and click View history to view all past instances for that job.
Job Title: Name or title of the job.
End Time: Jon completion time.
Job ID: Job ID number (also shows the instance ID number and phase ID number).
Job Type: Backup or restore.
Plugin: Name of the plug-in used to perform the job.
Selection Set: Backup or Restore Selection Set.
Client: Name of the NetVault Backup Client for which the job was performed.
Run Status: Run status (Succeeded, Failed, Aborted, and others).
To filter the list, click Filter Options. In the Filter Options dialog box, configure the options that you want to use. You can use multiple filter options.

Job Title

Use this option to view jobs where the job name matches the specified string.

Job ID

Use this option to filter jobs by the job ID number.

Job Phase

Use this option to filter jobs by the phase ID number (1 or 2).

Job Instance

Use this option to filter jobs by the instance ID number.

Client

Use this option to view jobs for a particular client.

Plugin

Use this option to view jobs performed using a particular plug-in.

Job Type

Use this option to filter jobs by job type. You can select backup, restore, or reporting job types.

Run Status

Use this option to filter jobs by their Run Status (Succeeded, Failed, Aborted, and others).

Start Time

Use this option to view jobs that started at a particular time.

End Time

Use this option to view jobs that completed at a particular time.

6
The Job History page loads a maximum of 10,000 records initially. The total number of records fetched is displayed at the lower-right corner of the table. For more information, see Sorting records and customizing tables in NetVault Backup WebUI .
You can click Load more to load the next set of records, if available. Each load action fetches a maximum of 10,000 records. This button is disabled if there are no more records to load.
7
Click OK to set the filter, and close the dialog box.

 

Monitoring logs

About NetVault Backup logs

All NetVault Backup processes generate log messages to provide information about the status of various operations and report error conditions. These messages are stored in the NetVault Database. You can view the log messages from the View Logs page.

NetVault Backup uses the Logging Daemon to manage and write the log messages to the database. The Logging Daemon runs on the NetVault Backup Server.

Log messages contain information that can be used for diagnosing and troubleshooting problems. When you report a problem, Quest Technical Support might request you to provide the log dump file. You can use the Download or Export method available on the View Logs page to generate the log dump file. For more information, see Downloading logs or Exporting logs.

Unlike logging, tracing is disabled by default. When investigating a problem, Quest Technical Support may request you to enable tracing on the server or client machines.

Diagnostic information is written to trace files. Each process generates its own trace file. By default, trace files are stored in the trace-container directory under the NetVault Backup installation directory. For more information, see Diagnostic tracing.

Log messages that are older than 30 days are automatically purged from the database. You can use the configuration settings for Logging Daemon to change the maximum age for log messages. You can also manually delete the log messages by using the Purge Logs method available on the View Logs page.

Related Documents