Chat now with support
Chat with Support

NetVault 11.3 - Administration Guide

Introduction Getting started Configuring clients Configuring storage devices Backing up data Managing policies Restoring data Managing jobs Monitoring logs Managing storage devices
Monitoring device activity Managing disk-based storage devices in table view Managing disk-based storage devices in tree view Managing tape libraries in table view Managing tape libraries in tree view Managing tape drives in table view Managing tape drives in tree view Adding shared devices
Managing storage media Managing user accounts Monitoring events and configuring notifications Reporting in NetVault Backup Working with client clusters Configuring default settings for NetVault Backup
About configuring default settings Configuring encryption settings Configuring plug-in options Configuring default settings for post-scripts Configuring default settings for Verify Plug-in Configuring Deployment Manager Settings Configuring Job Manager settings Configuring Logging Daemon settings Configuring Media Manager settings Configuring Network Manager settings Configuring Process Manager settings Configuring RAS device settings Configuring Schedule Manager settings Configuring Web Service settings Configuring Auditor Daemon settings Configuring firewall settings Configuring general settings Configuring security settings Synchronizing NetVault Time Configuring default settings for global notification methods Configuring the reporting utility Configuring NetVault Backup to use a specific VSS provider Configuring default settings using NetVault Configurator Configuring default settings using Txtconfig
Diagnostic tracing Using the deviceconfig utility NetVault Backup processes Environment variables Network ports used by NetVault Backup Troubleshooting

Removing a job schedule

You can remove a job schedule if you do not want to run the job. When you remove the job schedule, the job definition is not deleted. You can resubmit the job definition to schedule it again.

Managing job definitions

This section includes the following topics:

Viewing job definitions

Job definitions are stored in the Scheduler Database. You can view the job definitions for all scheduled, saved, completed, and active jobs from the Manage Job Definitions page.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Job Definitions.
2
On the Manage Job Definitions page, you can view the job definitions that are available in the NetVault Database. The page includes all scheduled and saved jobs.

The table shows the following information:

Job Title: Name or title of the job.
Job ID: Job ID number (also shows the instance ID number and phase ID number).
Policy name: Name of the policy if the job belongs to a backup policy.
Type: Backup or restore.
Plugin: Name of the plug-in used to perform the job.
Client: Name of the NetVault Backup Client for which the job was performed.
Selection Set: Backup or Restore Selection Set.
Run Status: Run status (Succeeded, Failed, Aborted, and others)
6
On the Manage Job Definitions — View Jobs page, you can view the following information:
Job Summary: This area shows the following information: job title, job ID, and job type (backup or restore), name of the client, name of the plug-in, job creation date, job modification date, run count, average duration, average size, Backup or Restore Selection Set, Backup Options Set, Schedule Set, Source Set, Target Set, and Backup or Restore Advanced Options Set.
Recent Instances: This table lists the recent instances of the job. It shows the following information: Run time, duration, job size, instance ID, phase ID, and run status (Succeeded, Failed, Aborted, and others)

Editing job definitions

You can change one or more components (sets) for an existing job definition. When saving the changes, you can choose to overwrite the job or save the changes to a new job.

1
In the Navigation pane, click Manage Job Definitions.
Schedule the job: To submit the job for scheduling, click Save & Submit.
Save the definition without scheduling the job: To save the job definition without scheduling it, click Save.
7
If a new name was provided in Step 5, the Save Job dialog box is displayed. Select the applicable option in this dialog box:
Save changes creating a new job using the supplied name: Select this option to save the changes to a new job.
Save changes renaming this job to the supplied name: Select this option to rename the existing job.
Related Documents