NetVault Backup Plug-in for Advanced Encryption 2.2 - User's Guide

Using the plug-in

Encrypting all backups

Performing job-level encryption

1
Start the Backup Job Wizard, and open the Advanced Options page. For more information, refer to the Dell NetVault Backup Administrator’s Guide.
2
Click Additional Options.
3
In the Additional Options dialog box, select the Enable Encryption check box.
Duplicate – This method creates an exact copy which is linked to the original backup. It breaks down the backup into segments and copies the segments to the storage device. During restore, the segments from the primary and secondary copy can be interchanged. As it is not possible to mix unencrypted segments with encrypted segments during restore, you cannot enable or disable encryption for a secondary copy created using the Duplicate method. If the original saveset is encrypted, the Duplicate method will create an encrypted secondary copy. If you have not encrypted the primary backup, the secondary copy will also be unencrypted.
Data Copy – This method is recommended when you want to create a Secondary Copy for offsite storage. The Data Copy method breaks down the backup into segments and copies the segments to the backup device. During restore, either the primary or the secondary copy is used to recover data. The segments from the primary and secondary copy are not interchanged. This allows you to encrypt the Data Copy when the primary copy is unencrypted. This is useful when you want to use the deduplication option for the primary backups.
1
Start the Backup Job Wizard, and open the Advanced Options page. For more information, refer to the Dell NetVault Backup Administrator’s Guide.
2
Click Secondary Copy.
3
In the Secondary Copy dialog box, select the Create Secondary Copy check box.
4
Select the Encrypt Secondary Copy Only check box. This option can only be used with the Data Copy method.
If the primary copy is encrypted, Data Copy will automatically create an encrypted saveset regardless of whether the Encrypt Secondary Copy Only check box is selected or not. Therefore, this option is only useful when you want to create an encrypted secondary copy from an unencrypted primary copy.
*NOTE: Encrypted primary copies will not be encrypted again if you select the Encrypt Secondary Copy Only check box for a copy. For restoring data from such secondary copies, you must use the primary copy’s Encryption Key.
Related Documents