Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Migrator for Notes to Exchange 4.16 - SSDM User Guide

Select Mailbox

The Select Mailbox screen usually appears only if the program finds more than one mailbox within the Outlook profile designated on the preceding screen. If more than one mailbox is found, this screen lets you specify which mailbox you want to receive your migrated items.

Select the mailbox into which the program should migrate your migrated Notes data, and click Next.

Specify Directory for Migrated Archive

This screen appears only if you have told the program (in a prior screen) that you want to migrate your Notes archive. The screen asks you to specify a directory where the archive will be placed when it is migrated.

Click Next to specify the displayed Outlook Default Directory unless your administrator has told you to use some other directory. To specify another directory, use the Browse feature to specify the path, and click Next.

Selection Summary

This screen shows the options you have chosen for this program run. If you want to change any of these values, click Back to return to any screen(s) and change any value(s). Then click Next to return to this screen. When the options shown here describe what you want to accomplish, click Next to begin the migration.

Validations for User ID, scheduled "window" and usage volume

Your migration administrator(s) can control when you and your coworkers run this SSDM application, to avoid processing bottlenecks that might otherwise occur if too many users try to run the SSDM at the same time. When you click Next from the Selection Summary screen, the program checks to validate:

Your User ID: If your User ID is not in the database of migrating users, the program posts an error message and does not let you run the SSDM.
Your migration "window": Your migration admin may have scheduled a "window" of time on a particular date that you and other users in your migration group are eligible to migrate. If you try to run the SSDM before or after your migration window, or if you or your migration group has not been scheduled to migrate, the SSDM posts an error message and will not run for you now. If you are simply early for your migration window, the program may be configured to offer either or both of these two options:
Schedule Reminder: The program will close the SSDM and remind you to run it again at the start of your window.
Enter Queue: The program will "park" the SSDM until your window begins. This option lets you save all your SSDM entries from earlier screens, whereas you would have to reenter them if you simply close the SSDM now and then re-run it when your window begins.
Usage volume: Your migration admin may have set a limit on the number of users who can run the SSDM at the same time. If that limit has been reached when you try to run the SSDM, even if you are well within your scheduled window, the program posts an error message and does not let you run the SSDM at this time. The program does, however, offer you the option to wait in a queue for the next open "slot" within the limit. This option "parks" the SSDM while you wait your turn, and saves all your SSDM entries from earlier screens, whereas you would have to reenter them if you simply close the SSDM now and then re-run it when your turn begins.

If the SSDM is interrupted by any of these validation checks, the program may also offer you the option to Report This Issue, which would generate an email to your migration administrator(s) notifying them of the problem you encountered. (Some admins configure the SSDM to send such emails automatically, in which case the Report button would not appear as an option.)

If this run of the SSDM clears all of the validation checks, then none of these error messages appears, and the program simply migrates your data as you have specified on the preceding screens.

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating