Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Migrator for Notes to Exchange 4.16 - Administration Guide

About the Migrator for Notes to Exchange documentation Notes Migration Manager NABS Discovery Wizard Internet Domains Discovery Wizard Directory Export Wizard Collection Wizard Groups Provisioning Wizard Notes Data Locator Wizard Provisioning Wizard Send PAB Replicator Wizard Data Migration Wizard SSDM Statistics Collection Wizard The Log Viewer Using the Qsched.exe task-scheduling utility SSDM Scheduling Administration utility Office 365 Admin Account Pool utility PowerShell cmdlets for Migrator for Notes to Exchange Appendix A: How do I ...?
Post-installation configuration Pre-migration preparations Batch-migration process Other features

Data Migration Wizard

Introduction

The Data Migration Wizard is a multi-function application that lets you perform various features and functions in various combinations in a single program run. The first few screens in every program run ask you what you want to accomplish. The program then proceeds through a linear sequence of screen displays, skipping any screens that do not pertain to the functions you have selected.

The wizard’s features may be grouped generally into these categories:

mailbox creation (mailbox-enabling) in the target environment;
setting and removing mail routing rules in source and target;
administrative functions such as disabling Notes synchronization with the foreign directory, setting user visibility in Domino, and so forth.
In the Migrate User Data screen of Notes Migration Manager: Select a user collection and click the Migrate button.

Field definitions and application notes for the wizard’s screens appear in separate subsections below, grouped by screen.

Smart resource reservation detection: The Migration Wizard detects an attempt to migrate calendar data for a collection in which some objects are not classified as resources in Migrator for Notes to Exchange's database, when [Notes] MigrateReservationsAlways is enabled (set to 1). In that case, the wizard presents a popup warning explaining that calendars of non-resource object may not migrate correctly, and suggesting that MigrateReservationsAlways be disabled (set to 0) unless the admin is certain that all objects in the collection are resources. (This feature offers the option of ignoring a MigrateReservationsAlways=1 setting.)

Wizard process screens

The Data Migration Wizard is configured in these screens:

Select Configuration

Select User Collection

Customize Configuration

Operations

Select Office 365 Administrative Operations

Configure Migration Notification Messages

Select Notes Administrative Operations

Specify Data for Migration

Specify How To Migrate Notes DocLinks

Notes Mail Files

Select Destinations for Migrated Data

Specify Mail Routing Options

Specify Notes to Exchange Mail Forwarding

Specify Remove Exchange Forwarding Settings

Specify Exchange to Notes Mail Forwarding

Specify Remove Notes Forwarding Settings

Select Notes User Visibility

Specify Active Directory Information

How Were Accounts Loaded into Active Directory

Specify Exchange Mailbox Information

Specify Notes Login Information

Select Date and Size Filters

Select Destination Exchange Server

Personal Archive Location

Specify Migration Run Information

Generating Task

Configuration Summary

Creating Task

Specify Task Schedule

Schedule Summary

Task Progress

Task Completed

Select Configuration

This screen lets you save and recall sets of entries in this wizard, as templates, to simplify future runs of the wizard when you expect you will have multiple runs that are similarly configured. Each such configuration template consists of the entries on all of the wizard’s screens.

Create new configuration or select from existing templates: Drop-down list box offers a choice of selecting a previously saved template to recall for this run of the wizard, or <Create new configuration>. Previously saved templates appear in the list by the Names under which they were saved (see the Name field below).

If you choose <Create new configuration> from the above drop-down list, the wizard displays:

[  ] Save as template: When checked, your entries in the wizard's remaining screens are saved as a template for future use. A checked box enables the Name and Description fields on this screen. The name you assign to the template will appear in the drop down list in future Wizard runs.
When Save as template is selected, you can choose to create a Full Template or a Differential template.

If you select a previously saved template from the drop-down list, the wizard imports all of its saved settings into all Wizard screens, and displays:

[  ] Modify this template: Mark this checkbox if you want to run the wizard this time with one or more entries different from the settings that were imported from the selected template.
A marked checkbox tells the wizard to permit changes to any of the settings that appear in any of its screens, including the Name and Description fields here. (You can then save the changes under a new template Name, and leave the originally selected template unchanged.)
If the checkbox is left cleared, the wizard will skip most of its screens when you click the Next button, to skip directly to the Configuration Summary screen.
Delete Selected Template: Click this button if you simply want to delete the selected template from the drop-down list (which will make it unavailable in future runs of the wizard). If you click Delete, the wizard will prompt you to confirm (or cancel) the command.

In any case, click Next to save your choices and entries on this screen and advance to the next screen.

Related Documents