Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix StoragePoint 5.9 - Reference Guide

Planning the Metalogix StoragePoint Implementation Backup/Restore and Disaster Recovery Synchronous versus Asynchronous Setting up Metalogix StoragePoint Default Values General Settings Managing Storage and Backup Endpoints Managing Storage Profiles
Creating a New Storage Profile Editing an Existing Storage Profile Converting a Profile to RBS Copying a Profile Delete an Existing Storage Profile Storage Profile Timer Jobs
Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Job Monitoring File Share Librarian Large File Support Dashboard User Experience Activating the Software Appendix A: Import\Export Tool

Retiring Storage Profiles

If there is a broader scoped profile available at the time of selecting Delete on the profile page, the only option will be to retire the profile, and select a successor profile. For example, if the profile being deleted covers a content database, but there is still an existing web application profile that covers that content database, the option to retire will be displayed but Delete will be greyed out.
retire a profile

If Retire is selected, the content will still be recalled, but a subsequent bulk externalization job will externalize the recalled content to the endpoint on the broader scoped profile. The Bulk Externalization job will need to be run manually if there are any errors in the Bulk Recall job. An Unused BLOB Cleanup Job will also be run for the retiring profile.

Backed up BLOBS can be moved to the Backup Endpoint of the successor profile, if the 'Retire BLOBs Backups' is checked, and there is a backup endpoint on the successor profile. (A backup endpoint can be selected for the successor profile at the time of profile retirement, using the dropdown.) They will be backed up by the successor profile's backup synchronization job, after they are externalized. Otherwise, backed up BLOBs from the retired profile will be cleared.

As with all bulk recall jobs, archived content will also be recalled. Archiving may need to be reconfigured for the successor profile, and it may be necessary to perform a Process Existing operation to re-archive content, if desired.

Storage Profile Timer Jobs

Storage Profile timer jobs process content based on the scope of the profile, rather than the entire SharePoint farm. They are the Unused BLOB Cleanup, BLOB Health Analyzer, BLOB Externalization, BLOB Recall, BLOB Migration, and Archive Aging jobs. This section will cover the purpose and configuration options for each. To review the summaries of each of these jobs, see Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Job Monitoring.

1.Click the Storage Profiles link on the Application Management page in SharePoint Central Administration.

2.Click the Jobs link in the Advanced Configuration column of the desired Storage Profile.

3.The Job Configuration page is displayed.

 

These timer jobs are profile-specific. To see the farm-wide timer jobs and reports, including System Health Report, go to General Settings.

Unused BLOB Cleanup Job Considerations

 

What is an unused BLOB and what is the Unused BLOB Cleanup Job?

BLOB files on the external file store may become orphaned in a number of ways including being purged from the SharePoint Recycle Bin. SharePoint also generates a substantial number of orphaned BLOBs in the course of its normal operations. For example, when a document is checked out, modified and checked back in, SharePoint may write out an entirely new copy of the BLOB file and abandon the old one.

The Unused BLOB Cleanup Job removes these orphaned BLOBs from the external file store. It is important to schedule and run this job on a regular basis to reclaim space on the external file store and stop the file store from growing too large with unused BLOB files. However, there are several considerations to take into account when scheduling this job.

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating