Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix StoragePoint 5.9.1 - Reference Guide

Planning the Metalogix StoragePoint Implementation Backup/Restore and Disaster Recovery Synchronous versus Asynchronous Setting up Metalogix StoragePoint Default Values General Settings Managing Storage and Backup Endpoints Managing Storage Profiles
Creating a New Storage Profile Editing an Existing Storage Profile Converting a Profile to RBS Copying a Profile Delete an Existing Storage Profile Storage Profile Timer Jobs
Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Job Monitoring File Share Librarian Large File Support Dashboard User Experience Activating the Software Appendix A: Import\Export Tool

Converting a Profile to RBS

This feature is only available on SharePoint 2010. If a profile was initially configured to use EBS, there will be a link allowing for a one-time upgrade.

1.On the Edit Storage Profile page, click the Upgrade from EBS to RBS link.
METALO~1_img109
A new window will open.

There are a few scenarios that could be encountered, keeping in mind that site collection scoped profiles can only use EBS.

If the profile is site collection scoped:

·and there is no parent profile (Content Database or Web Application scoped), then a new profile must be created that uses RBS and covers the scope of the site collection.

·and there is an EBS parent profile, that parent profile will be converted to RBS, the site collection profile will be inactivated and hidden, and the site collection will now fall under the scope of that parent profile.

·and there is an RBS parent profile, the site collection profile will be inactivated and hidden, and the site collection will now fall under the scope of that parent profile.

If the profile is Content Database or Web Application scoped, it will be converted to RBS. Any Site Collection scoped profiles that are children to the converted profile will be inactivated and hidden. Any Content Database profiles that are children will be converted, but will not be deactivated.

All content within the scope of the profile will be converted automatically.

Converted content will not be moved to the parent or grandparent profile endpoint. That can be done with a Bulk Migration job.

Converting a SC scoped profile with an EBS Parent profile.

Converting a SC scoped profile with an EBS Parent profile.

 

Converting a CDB scoped profile with a child SC profile.

Converting a CDB scoped profile with a child SC profile.

2.Click Convert.

3.Click OK on the prompt to confirm.
METALO~1_img111

4.Click OK on the confirmation prompt.
METALO~1_img112

5.The page is returned to the profile page. Note the change to the profile scope.
METALO~1_img113

6.On the Job Summary page, there will be an entry for the EBS to RBS Conversion timer job. This summary will show how many BLOBs were converted.
METALO~1_img114
EBSRBS job summary

Copying a Profile

A quick way to create profiles is to use the copy feature. This takes a ‘snapshot’ of a profile, and except for the scope, copies all the configuration information into a new profile. This can save time in

·selecting endpoints,

·configuring timer jobs,

·setting up archiving, backup, and records management,

·and other configuration steps.

It is more comprehensive than relying on the Default Settings, and will likely be more customized to reflect settings already widely used for other parts of the SharePoint farm.

1.At the bottom of the profile page is a Copy button to copy the setup of an existing profile. Click Copy.
METALO~1_img115

2.A summary will be displayed of the profile configuration. Click Copy to make a copy of this configuration.
METALO~1_img116

3.A new profile screen opens, and the Name indicates that it is a copy. Update the name, select the scope of this new profile, which has been cleared, and make any other changes to the profile before saving.
METALO~1_img117

 

Items to make special note of:

·The Start folder of the endpoint, especially if this reflects the profile’s name.

·Any filters for asynchronous profiles. Make sure they still apply to the content of the new scope. Metadata and hierarchical filters are not copied.

·Librarian endpoints are not copied.

·Anything that used a hierarchical scope (filtering, archiving) needs to be corrected.

·A profile reboot may be needed after saving to enable the links on the SharePoint content within the scope of the new profile. To do this, open the profile, disable externalization, save the profile, open and enable externalization on the profile, and save.

Delete an Existing Storage Profile

While safeguards are in place to prevent externalized content from becoming irretrievable, deleting a storage profiles is still an operation that should be carefully planned and executed.

NOTE: Deleting the profile will automatically schedule a Bulk Recall and an Unused BLOB Cleanup job for the profile.

NOTE: Deleting a profile with a librarian configuration is not possible. A warning will be displayed to delete the Librarian configuration first.  Perform a Bulk Recall job for the profile, BEFORE deleting the librarian configuration. This will prevent errors when the bulk recall is performed at the time of profile deletion.

Delete Versus Disable

If there was a File Share Librarian configuration that was associated with the profile, the content on that endpoint is also pulled into the content database by the bulk recall job when the profile is deleted. In this case, just change the Externalize Content BLOBS to No, instead of deleting the profile. This will leave the librarian file share intact.

It is strongly recommended that an Unused BLOB Cleanup Timer Job be run so that there is no confusion as to why there may be some BLOBs remaining after the Recall Job is performed. Once the Storage Profile is gone, there is no access to the Unused BLOB Cleanup Timer Job.

1.Click the name of the storage profile to open it.

2.Click Delete at the bottom of the page.

3.A deletion confirmation page is displayed.
Delete profile

4.Select the server on which to run the delete job.

5.Check the Default Notification Contacts checkbox, or enter other email addresses that should receive the completion notice.

6.Click Delete to continue with the deletion process or Cancel to return to the previous page.

A Recall job will be scheduled for the storage profile. Upon successful completion of that job the storage profile will be deleted. Until then, the storage profile will be in a “deleting” state and will not be editable. Additional timer jobs will also be unavailable for running or scheduling.

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating