Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix StoragePoint 5.8 - Reference Guide

Planning the Metalogix StoragePoint Implementation Backup/Restore and Disaster Recovery Synchronous versus Asynchronous Setting up Metalogix StoragePoint Default Values General Settings Managing Storage and Backup Endpoints Managing Storage Profiles
Creating a New Storage Profile Editing an Existing Storage Profile Converting a Profile to RBS Copying a Profile Delete an Existing Storage Profile Storage Profile Timer Jobs
Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Job Monitoring File Share Librarian Large File Support Dashboard User Experience Activating the Software Appendix A: Import\Export Tool Appendix B: Feature Matrix

Job Status

The Job Status page provides an overview of the status of Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Jobs.

The desired behavior is for a recurring job (of any type) to only show the most recently running or completed instance in the Storage Job Status page. This means in the case of the Capacity job running every five minutes that only the job from the last 5 minutes will ever be shown. This applies to all timer jobs, including profile timer jobs such as BLOB Health Analyzer. Manually run jobs will not be subject to this rule, and will show every instance that the timer job was run manually.
METALO~1_img168

1.Launch SharePoint Central Administration from the Administrative Tasks menu or enter the URL directly into a browser window.

2.Navigate to Application Management > Job Status.

3.As a timer job is executing an entry will be present on this page with an approximate percentage complete indicator in the Progress column.

4.Use the Filter Results column to help narrow down the search for a specific job summary.

5.In the Actions column, click Clear to remove that report from the page. (Or click Clear All in the Actions column to clear all notifications.)  The job will no longer be available for review on the Job Status page. Once the job is complete, click Summary to review additional information about the timer job.

Example of a Standalone Timer Job Summary:
METALO~1_img169

Example of a Master Timer Job Summary:
METALO~1_img170

The content of the job will vary depending on the type of job that was run. For example, the Summary for Librarian has an additional link to view the Transaction Log to see what SharePoint content was created.

The Job Name is also a link that provides Running Job Detail that is especially helpful while the job is running in a Master/Worker configuration. While the job is running, the thread count on each server can be changed, the batches waiting to be processed can be viewed, and the progress overall can be viewed from the Master Job information on the left side of the page.
METALO~1_img171

If the job is in Standalone, the information will look like this, in a new window:
METALO~1_img172

The Unused Blob Cleanup summary will reset the counts after each run and are not cumulative.
METALO~1_img173

File Share Librarian

The File Share Librarian is a capability within Metalogix StoragePoint that facilitates a shallow copy migration of content from file shares to containers in SharePoint, meaning content currently stored in file system-based shares can be represented in SharePoint as items, without being physically moved or uploaded into SharePoint. The Librarian simply creates items that point to the already externalized or remoted BLOBs. Once cataloged, they are treated by Metalogix StoragePoint like any other remoted BLOB would be treated.

In addition to cataloging the items on the source file share, the Librarian can also create a dynamic container structure within SharePoint. If a Web Application is used as the destination container in SharePoint, the Librarian will start by creating site collections for the first sub level folders in the file share, then sites at the next level, then libraries, and finally folders. For example, if a file share starting with a folder named Contoso is cataloged into a site collection in SharePoint it would look something like this:
METALO~1_img157

As containers are created in SharePoint, the Librarian can apply permissions to them based on the effective permissions of the file share folders. It will map users and groups on the folders to the Owner (full control), Member (read/write), and Visitor (read only) roles in SharePoint.

There will be a notification if the license is not enabled with File Share Librarian capability.
METALO~1_img158

File Share Librarian and File Shares

When using the File Share Librarian feature of Metalogix StoragePoint, it is important to understand that once a file share is cataloged by File Share Librarian, the file share is effectively under the control of SharePoint/Metalogix StoragePoint. Files on the file share may be modified or deleted depending on actions taken in SharePoint such as deleting files or removing folders, document libraries and cataloged sites.

For example, if the file is deleted in SharePoint and then purged from the SharePoint recycle bins, it will eventually be removed from the file share.

It is strongly recommended that a full backup of any cataloged file shares is taken before cataloging them with the File Share Librarian feature.

Also for this reason, any SharePoint Structure (Sites, Lists, libraries, folders) that are created as the result of cataloging should not be renamed in the SharePoint farm if it is expected that the librarian timer job may be run again at some point.

Librarian and New File Externalization

New content within the scope of the librarian configuration will need a non-librarian endpoint if there isn’t one already on an existing profile for that scope; otherwise it will go to the content database. For example, if a librarian configuration is created that is pointing to a Content Database, but there is already a profile for the Web Application, the Future File Externalization Endpoint field will not be necessary; the endpoint that is already on the profile will be used. If the web app profile had only Librarian endpoints, the field will display on the Librarian configuration page. Conversely, if the Librarian configuration is going to result in the creation of a new profile where only the librarian endpoint is added, a second endpoint can be added to that profile while making edits on the librarian configuration page. New content is anything added after the content is cataloged, including versions of cataloged content.

Related Documents