Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix StoragePoint 5.8 - Reference Guide

Planning the Metalogix StoragePoint Implementation Backup/Restore and Disaster Recovery Synchronous versus Asynchronous Setting up Metalogix StoragePoint Default Values General Settings Managing Storage and Backup Endpoints Managing Storage Profiles
Creating a New Storage Profile Editing an Existing Storage Profile Converting a Profile to RBS Copying a Profile Delete an Existing Storage Profile Storage Profile Timer Jobs
Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Job Monitoring File Share Librarian Large File Support Dashboard User Experience Activating the Software Appendix A: Import\Export Tool Appendix B: Feature Matrix

Storage Profile Timer Jobs

Storage Profile timer jobs process content based on the scope of the profile, rather than the entire SharePoint farm. They are the Unused BLOB Cleanup, BLOB Health Analyzer, BLOB Externalization, BLOB Recall, BLOB Migration, and Archive Aging jobs. This section will cover the purpose and configuration options for each. To review the summaries of each of these jobs, see Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Job Monitoring.

1.Click the Storage Profiles link on the Application Management page in SharePoint Central Administration.

2.Click the Jobs link in the Advanced Configuration column of the desired Storage Profile.

3.The Job Configuration page is displayed.

 

These timer jobs are profile-specific. To see the farm-wide timer jobs and reports, including System Health Report, go to General Settings.

Unused BLOB Cleanup Job Considerations

 

What is an unused BLOB and what is the Unused BLOB Cleanup Job?

BLOB files on the external file store may become orphaned in a number of ways including being purged from the SharePoint Recycle Bin. SharePoint also generates a substantial number of orphaned BLOBs in the course of its normal operations. For example, when a document is checked out, modified and checked back in, SharePoint may write out an entirely new copy of the BLOB file and abandon the old one.

The Unused BLOB Cleanup Job removes these orphaned BLOBs from the external file store. It is important to schedule and run this job on a regular basis to reclaim space on the external file store and stop the file store from growing too large with unused BLOB files. However, there are several considerations to take into account when scheduling this job.

Unused BLOB Retention Settings

The Unused BLOB Retention is a setting on each profile that specifies how many days after being orphaned that a BLOB file should be retained. So instead of deleting the BLOB immediately after being orphaned, the Unused BLOB Cleanup Job will retain the BLOB for a specified number of days.

This setting is important for synchronizing the BLOB store around the backup/restore cycle. The Unused BLOB setting allows for restoring older backups of the content database without restoring backups of the file store. Backups of the content database as old as the retention setting can be safely restored without also restoring the file store. This setting is particularly important if the backup cycles of the content database and file store are not synchronized.

The Unused BLOB retention setting also allows for item level restore using other Metalogix products. In this case, the BLOB retention must be set to the maximum number of days in the past that deleted items can be restored. So, for example, if the retention is set to 180 days, then any SharePoint documents or list items deleted in the last 180 days could be safely restored.

Related Documents