Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix StoragePoint 5.8 - Reference Guide

Planning the Metalogix StoragePoint Implementation Backup/Restore and Disaster Recovery Synchronous versus Asynchronous Setting up Metalogix StoragePoint Default Values General Settings Managing Storage and Backup Endpoints Managing Storage Profiles
Creating a New Storage Profile Editing an Existing Storage Profile Converting a Profile to RBS Copying a Profile Delete an Existing Storage Profile Storage Profile Timer Jobs
Metalogix StoragePoint Timer Job Monitoring File Share Librarian Large File Support Dashboard User Experience Activating the Software Appendix A: Import\Export Tool Appendix B: Feature Matrix

Retained Versions Rule Conditions

Please note that Retained Version Number is not the same as Version Number.

For example, let’s say there are 5 versions; 3 major (1.0, 2.0, and 3.0) and 2 minor (0.1 and 2.1). The current version is 3.0 and that is the 1st retained version. If I want to include only Major versions, then 2.0 is the 2nd retained version and 1.0 is the 3rd retained version. If the rule condition says Move Retained Versions From 2 to 5 to Endpoint X then Versions 2.0 and 1.0 will be moved to Endpoint X.

In that same example, include Minor versions. This time there are two rule conditions, one that says Move Retained Versions From 2 to 4 to Endpoint X and another that says Move Retained version From 5 to 10 to Endpoint Y. In this case, versions 2.1, 2.0, and 1.0 (2nd, 3rd, and 4th retained versions, respectively) would be moved to endpoint X and version 0.1 (5th retained version) would be moved to endpoint Y.

1.From the New Archiving Rule page, click the Retained Versions Rule option, and click the New Rule link.retained versions ui

2.Select the type of Retained Version Rule to define.

Option

Result

All Versions Except Current

Only the most recent version will not move to the archive endpoint.

Versions Within Range

From – Enter the minimum retained version number to be archived.

To – Enter the maximum retained version number to be archived. Leave blank to take all retained versions greater than the minimum.

Include Version Options

Only applies if the Versions Within Range Option is used.

3.(Optional) Select a Property in the MetaData Criteria section, and specify a value. This condition creates a compound archiving rule, and content will only be archived if both conditions are true.

4.Select the archive endpoint from the dropdown or click New or Edit as needed. See Creating a New Storage Endpoint for steps.

5.Click OK. (Click Cancel to return to the New Archiving Rule page without saving changes.) The New Archiving Rule page is displayed.

6.Click New Condition to add additional rules or click OK to return to the Archiving Configuration page once all of the rules are configured.

7.Click Save on the Archiving Configuration page once all rules are created.

 

In SharePoint 2013 and 2016, shredded storage will shred files in several small chunks. This can cause StoragePoint’s versioning to store different shreds of the same file on different endpoints. Because of this, the versioning rule in the archiving configuration section will be removed in the next release of StoragePoint.

Archiving Existing Content

When Save is clicked on the Profile page after archiving rules have been created or modified, a Process Existing dialog box displays to begin the migration of existing content, according to the rules that were created. Process existing content for each type of archiving rule individually, or all types of archiving rules.

1.For each type of archiving rule, select the preference for processing existing content.

Process Existing

 

Never

Existing content BLOBs will remain where they are and never be migrated. (default)

Immediate

Existing content BLOBs will be archived right away, per the rules created.

Scheduled

Specify a specific Date and Time to run the archiving process for existing content BLOBs.

archiving process existing

2.Click the Show link to see the advanced job settings.

3. (Optional) Under the Send Completion Notice To: header:

a.Choose Always or Only when errors occur.

b.Check the Default Notifications Contacts box to have an email sent to the email address entered in General Settings. Note that for this feature to work, the Default Notification field on General Settings must contain a valid email address.

c.In the Additional Contacts box, enter a semi-colon delimited list of other email addresses that should receive the notification.

4.(Optional)  On the on Server dropdown list, select the WFE server to run the job on.

5.(Optional)  Enter the Number of Processing Threads to use during job execution. It will default to one thread per processor core if no value is supplied.

6.Click OK.

Archiving Rules for Site Administrators – Information Management Policies

If IMP Configuration was set to Yes by the SharePoint farm administrator, individual Site Collection Administrators can set up specific archiving rules using the endpoints and configurations made available to them by the administrator.

From the Settings menu on the list, click Document Library Settings.

Under Permissions and Management, click Information management policy settings.
METALO~1_img151

Check the Define a policy… option, and click OK.
METALO~1_img152

Select a content type to which to apply the policy.

Click the StoragePoint Intelligent Archiving checkbox; the types of archiving rules will display.
METALO~1_img153

Select the type of rule to create. If the SharePoint farm administrator has already established archiving rules for a content type on the library or list, those will be displayed. They can be edited from this page, if necessary.

For specifics on creating archiving rules, see Aging Rules, Metadata Change Rule, or Retained Versions Rule.
METALO~1_img154

Deleting Archiving Rules

Archive rules can be deleted by both the farm administrator and site owners. To remove an archive rule, go to either the Storage Profiles page and open the profile, or go to the Information Management Policies page under Document Library Settings, respectively.

Navigate to the conditions, and click the x to the right of the condition to delete it.
METALO~1_img155

Confirm the deletion.
METALO~1_img156

Click Ok to delete the rule.

Related Documents