Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Essentials for Office 365 2.3 - User Guide

Metalogix Essentials for Office 365 User Guide
Administrator Architect Backup
Interface Overview Common Functions
Connecting to SharePoint and OneDrive for Business Connecting to Cloud Storage Global and SharePoint Administrators Hyper Backup Creating a Full Backup Creating an Update Backup Creating an Exchange Online Mailbox Backup Creating an Office 365 Group Backup Creating a OneDrive for Business Backup Backup Resume Backup Search Restore from Backup Scheduling Backup Jobs Retention Policies Import/Export Backup Archives Moving the Backup Location Backup Project Conversion
Drives
Interface Overview Common Functions
Connecting to Drives Copy Google Drive Copy File Share Copy My Sites to OneDrive for Business Copy Tenant Copy Box Copy Dropbox OneDrive Management Progress Tab Hyper Migration Path Length Overflow
File Manager Informant Migrator
Interface Common Functions
Connect to SharePoint and OneDrive for Business Global and SharePoint Administrators Copy Sites Live Compare Copy Lists and Libraries Copy, Move, and Tag SharePoint Content Copy Alerts Pre-Migration Report Azure Turbo Mode In-Place Tagging of SharePoint Items Incremental Copy Nintex Workflow Migration Orphaned Users Copy Preserving Content Authorship and Approve/Reject Statuses Save Site to XML Using Scripts and Integration With Windows Task Scheduler
Profile and Global Variables Public Folders for SharePoint Reporting and Re-Mapping Users and Templates Security Manager Term Store Manager Scripts Wizards Appendix

Global and SharePoint Administrators

A Global or SharePoint Administrator account must be used in order to perform full migrations. An account with less privileges will only be able to perform a limited set of migrations.

Essential tool requests certain user roles to starts and successfully finish hyper migration or hyper backup jobs. These administrative accounts are required to connect to the tenant level, to each site collection, users OneDrive’s, Office 365 groups, Microsoft Teams sites, etc. In order to connect to all of this you must be either a  Global Administrator or a SharePoint Administrator. If you use an Exchange Administrator or Billing Administrator, or any other user role, the Migration will fail. This is because Essentials will not be able to access the target site collection in order to  upload content and/or the azure job would be restricted by Office 365.  

Hyper Backup

The Hyper Backup functionality provides users with additional backup functionality, such as a new way of storing content, pausing and resuming hyper backup jobs, a faster user interface and better performance.

hyper backup1

 

 

Hyper Backup Limitations

info

NOTE:

·Hyper Backup supports Document library, Picture library, Custom List, Announcements List, Calendar List, Wiki Pages Library. Forms Library, Task List, Contact List, Disucssion Board List etc. are not supported

·Delete content form source when creating new backup project is not supported

·Clear snapshot when Resume job is not supported

·Hyper Backup is supported only for SharePoint Online Sites and OneDrives

 

info

NOTE: Hyper Backup Jobs for versions of Essentials older than 2.3 can not be "resumed", they should be cleared and new backup jobs should be started.

Auto Resume

Auto Resume allows users to set automatic resume sessions in order to bypass issues caused by Office 365 throttling. This functionality works by analyzing a hyper backup or hyper migration at the medium stage, looking for errors that occurred during migration. Once a "is not responding" error is found, the next auto resume round is started, and only objects with the "is not responding" status are re-migrated.

The number of Auto Resume attempts can be specified in in the Profile Manager.

1.In the Essentials, select the Help tab, and then Profile Manager.
auto resume 3

2.In Profile Manager, select Hyper Migration/Backup from the left hand tab.
Auto Resume 1

3.On the right hand half of the Profile Manager window, find the "Number of Rounds" setting. This setting is set to 1 by default, which means that only one migration round will be launched and the auto-resume function is not enabled. Changing this number, to 5 for example, will cause the tool to run the first migration round, and then it will run auto resume attempts until the connection problem is solved, or up to 4 more times (for a total of 5 rounds). (This means if the connection problem is resolved by the second attempt, then auto resume will stop and have no need to run 2 more times)
Auto Resume 4

info

NOTE: Auto Resume will only retry for throttling issues and will skip issues connected with permissions, authentication, lost internet connections, and non-supported objects, etc.

info

NOTE: You can use Admin Pool in combination with Auto-Resume or use only one of the functions to solve the problem with connections to Office 365.

Related Documents