Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Essentials for Office 365 2.2.3 - User Guide

Metalogix Essentials for Office 365 User Guide
Administrator Architect Backup
Interface Overview Common Functions
Connecting to SharePoint and OneDrive for Business Connecting to Cloud Storage Hyper Backup Creating a Full Backup Creating an Update Backup Creating an Exchange Online Mailbox Backup Creating an Office 365 Group Backup Creating a OneDrive for Business Backup Backup Resume Backup Search Restore from Backup Scheduling Backup Jobs Import/Export Backup Archives Moving the Backup Location Backup Project Conversion
Drives
Interface Overview Common Functions
Connecting to Drives Copy Google Drives to OneDrive for Business Copy Google Drive to an Office 365 Group Copy Google Drive to Microsoft Teams Copy File Shares to OneDrive for Business Copy File Shares to SharePoint Online Copy File Shares to an Office 365 Group Copy File Share to Microsoft Teams Copy My Sites to OneDrive for Business Copy OneDrive for Business to OneDrive for Business Copy Box to OneDrive for Business Copy Box to SharePoint Online Copy Box to an Office 365 Group Copy Box to Microsoft Teams Copy Dropbox Business to OneDrive for Business Copy Dropbox to an Office 365 Group Copy Dropbox to Microsoft Teams OneDrive Management Progress Tab Hyper Migration Path Length Overflow
File Manager Informant Migrator
Interface Common Functions
Connect to SharePoint and OneDrive for Business Copy Sites Live Compare Copy Lists and Libraries Copy, Move, and Tag SharePoint Content Copy Alerts Pre-Migration Analysis Azure Turbo Mode In-Place Tagging of SharePoint Items Incremental Copy Nintex Workflow Migration Orphaned Users Copy Preserving Content Authorship and Approve/Reject Statuses Reprocess Failed Items Save Site to XML Using Scripts and Integration With Windows Task Scheduler
Profile and Global Variables Public Folders for SharePoint Reporting and Re-Mapping Users and Templates Security Manager Term Store Manager Scripts Wizards Appendix

Moving the Backup Location

In order to run this process a scheduled Backup must be in place and must have run at least one time.  Please follow the steps below to successfully move the file location of your Backup Job.

1.Select the backup job for which you wish to move the file location - the backup jobs are found in the Backup Navigator panel.

2.Right click on the backup job and select Delete, or click the Delete button from the Backup Navigator ribbon.
moving backup location

3.On the Confirm Backup Delete pop-up, click Ok. Do not check the box to delete content.
moving backup location2

4.On the Summary pop-up, click Ok.

5.Restart the Essentials Console.

6.Go to the View tab within Essentials and Select Scheduler.
moving backup location3

7.Select the Task that you are moving and choose the Edit Script option from the bottom menu.
moving backup location4

info

NOTE: If your Backup Job was created before July 20, 2015 Select Script to edit the Script.  If your Backup Job was created on July 20, 2015 or after select Edit Script to make changes to the Script.

8.A script window will appear. Within the script find the portion that refers to the project folder location (for example: "C:/Users/username/Essentials/.metadata/tasks/SharePoint-Backup.cmd"), and change the location to where you want the Backup to be saved.  Close the script window once you have made your changes.

9.Go to the location of the original Backup and Cut and Paste the entire Archive Folder from the old location to the new location.

10. Restart Essentials and then use the steps for Importing Backup Archives to link the Tool to the new Backup Location.

11. Run the Backup from the Scheduler by selecting the job and clicking Run in order to make sure the Backup runs without error.
moving backup location5

If you do run into any errors contact Support and we will help you with any issues.

Backup Project Conversion

Due to a significant update made to improve performance, the format in which the backup projects are stored may need to be changed as well.  Any Backup projects created prior to the December 21, 2015 version will have the option to be converted.  This is an optional, one time, operation and any project already converted or any new project created after will be stored in the newer format and therefore the conversion will not be necessary.

The conversion process is fully automated and very simple to accomplish following the steps below.  Please allow adequate time for the process to complete before you continue using the software.  Depending on the size of the backup project, this process may take anywhere from several minutes to hours to conclude.

1.Update to the latest version of the software by going to the Help tab in Essentials, and selecting Check for Updates.
backup project conversion1

2.Determine which Backup projects need to be converted.  You can simply select the Backup project from the Backup Navigator pane, right click and choose Update or select the update button from the Backup Navigator pane.
backup project conversion2

3.When the Update Backup wizard appears, a message will appear if a conversion is available.
Conversion-Update-Message

4.(Optional but recommended) Before you convert the project, select your Backup project that you wish to convert from the Backup Navigator and choose the Export option.  This will export your backup project in its current format to another location (for an overview on how to perform an export and import of a backup please see the Import/Export Backup Archives sections).  If anything should happen during the conversion process you can Import your project back into the software and try again.  If you receive any error messages during the Export process, please contact support before proceeding.

5.To convert your backup project, select the project in the Backup Navigator pane, right click and choose the option “Convert to New Version Project”.  If the option is not present, then the project is already stored in the new format and therefore does not need conversion.
Conversion-Option

6.Click OK on the confirmation dialog pop-up in order to begin the conversion. Depending on the amount of content in the project, this process may take a few minutes to several hours to complete.  During the conversion process, please do not create any new backups.
backup project conversion3

7.Once it is done, click OK on the confirmation dialog and restart the software to finish the procedure.

8.Repeat this process for each Backup Project that you would like to convert.

If you receive any error messages or would just like some assistance, please contact support.

 

Drives

Metalogix Essentials for Drives provides a simplified, wizard driven experience to migrating content in, out, or between various drive management systems (local or cloud based).  It can also provide additional functionality to managing some or all OneDrive for Business sites within a specific Office 365 tenant.

Interface Overview

The application consists of two primary panes: (1) Navigator and (2) Contents/Objects Area. The primary focus of this area is a set of wizards that are displayed when selecting the required operation from the ribbon. A complete listing and description of these wizards is in a separate section of the manual labeled Common Functions.

The navigator can be loaded with individual or enterprise level drives that allow for simple drag and drop migrations between several of these Drive locations.

Drives Interface Overview

The Drive's tab also gives you access to a Progress tab, also located in the contents pane area, under the Progress tab. This tab has detailed information about each single current user migration status. For more information about the progress bar see this section. Drives Progress Bar 1

The Drive's tab also gives you access to a Hyper Migration tab, also located in the Contents pane area, under the Hyper Migration tab. This tab is where all hyper migration jobs are saved, displayed, and managed. For more information on managing your Hyper Migrations, please see this section.

info

NOTE: Hyper Migration is currently only available for Migrations where the source is Dropbox, FileShare, or Box.

 
Drives Hyper Migration 1

Related Documents