Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Essentials for Office 365 2.2.3 - User Guide

Metalogix Essentials for Office 365 User Guide
Administrator Architect Backup
Interface Overview Common Functions
Connecting to SharePoint and OneDrive for Business Connecting to Cloud Storage Hyper Backup Creating a Full Backup Creating an Update Backup Creating an Exchange Online Mailbox Backup Creating an Office 365 Group Backup Creating a OneDrive for Business Backup Backup Resume Backup Search Restore from Backup Scheduling Backup Jobs Import/Export Backup Archives Moving the Backup Location Backup Project Conversion
Drives
Interface Overview Common Functions
Connecting to Drives Copy Google Drives to OneDrive for Business Copy Google Drive to an Office 365 Group Copy Google Drive to Microsoft Teams Copy File Shares to OneDrive for Business Copy File Shares to SharePoint Online Copy File Shares to an Office 365 Group Copy File Share to Microsoft Teams Copy My Sites to OneDrive for Business Copy OneDrive for Business to OneDrive for Business Copy Box to OneDrive for Business Copy Box to SharePoint Online Copy Box to an Office 365 Group Copy Box to Microsoft Teams Copy Dropbox Business to OneDrive for Business Copy Dropbox to an Office 365 Group Copy Dropbox to Microsoft Teams OneDrive Management Progress Tab Hyper Migration Path Length Overflow
File Manager Informant Migrator
Interface Common Functions
Connect to SharePoint and OneDrive for Business Copy Sites Live Compare Copy Lists and Libraries Copy, Move, and Tag SharePoint Content Copy Alerts Pre-Migration Analysis Azure Turbo Mode In-Place Tagging of SharePoint Items Incremental Copy Nintex Workflow Migration Orphaned Users Copy Preserving Content Authorship and Approve/Reject Statuses Reprocess Failed Items Save Site to XML Using Scripts and Integration With Windows Task Scheduler
Profile and Global Variables Public Folders for SharePoint Reporting and Re-Mapping Users and Templates Security Manager Term Store Manager Scripts Wizards Appendix

Backup Resume

If a backup operation does not finish in its entirety, then it is considered incomplete and will be marked in red as a fauled job, or in white as a paused job.

If a backup is in this incomplete state, there are two options available.

First, you can select this backup project, right click and choose Resume, or click on the Resume button on the Hyper Backup tab toolbar.  This will continue the backup process from the beginning of the mailbox or OneDrive for Business site that the previous attempt stopped on.  When the resume operation is complete, the resulting snapshot will include all the objects as defined in the project configuration.
hyper backup 7

Second, you can choose not to run the Resume function for the current backup, leaving it to run as usual on the next update.  This will mean that content from the previous incomplete backup will be missed and cannot be resumed at a later time.

Backup Search

In order to search for content within a backup project or a specific snapshot (Exchange Online backup search coming soon) two options are provided, Quick Search and Advanced Search.  
 
To use either search mode first begin by selecting the location in the Backup Navigator for which to perform the search.  This location may either be an entire backup project or a specific snapshot from within a project.  Once this location is selected, enter the search value into the Quick Search entry field or select Advanced Search from the context menu.

Quick Search is located in the toolbar above the Backup Navigator (using the default layout) and provides a quick, easy method to locate a file based on its file name.  Using Quick Search you can define the exact file name "Important Document - Do not delete", partial file name "Important Document" or use wildcards (*) "*Do not delete*".
backup search2

Advanced Search is located by right clicking on a selected backup project and selecting Advanced Search.
backup search3
Advanced Search offers additional metadata properties (names, dates) and conditions (before, after, contains, etc.) to more easily locate specific objects based on these advanced parameters.
backup search4

Search Results

The search results will appear in the Search Results tab, located in the same section as the Backup Navigator, where all occurrences of the objects will be presented as well as the location in which they were found.  
backup search1

Restore from Backup

There are a variety of ways to perform a restore of a backup, based on your specific needs. This section will review the various components of a backup which can be restored and the ways in which to do so.
restore backup1

 

Restore a Site from Specific Backup

The following are instructions for restoring a SharePoint site (in-place restore only) from a specific backup:

1.Navigate to the backup and select a site to restore.

2.You can access the Restore wizard by either right-clicking on the selected site or list and selecting the "Restore" option.
hyper backup 12
Or you can access the Restore Wizard by selecting "To Original Location" in the Restore section of the Ribbon.
restore backup3

3.When prompted, select "yes" that you do want to restore the backup to its original location. Then select whether you would like to send notification.

4.The Copy Site Properties wizard will now be generated.

5.In the wizard you can choose to create a new Profile or use the Site-Default profile.
restore backup4

6.You can choose from the following configuration options:

Site Collection options  
hyper backup 15

info

NOTE:

·Site Collection options would be available only if site collection does not exist. Otherwise this section would not be available.

·Enter new site collection URL is not supported.

Tenant Central Admin URL – enter the Admin Portal URL for Office 365 where site collection must be restored

Site Collection Admin- enter user name (user@contoso.com) who would be site collection admin for restored site collection

Site Collection Quota - enter quota for restored site collection.

 

Site Copy Options
hyper backup 16
 
Include Sub-Sites - Enable this option to include all sub-sites of the current site in this operation.
Include Site Permissions - This option will copy source site permissions to the target site. If the source site permissions are inherited, then the target site permissions will also be set to inherited. If the source site permissions are unique, these unique permissions will be copied to the target site.
 
List Copy Options
hyper backup 17

info

NOTE: Restore would be with all lists, list settings, content types, columns and content

Include Permissions - copy the permissions associated with the content within this list/library

Include Versions - copy the version of the content included within the list/library. You can specify if you would like to include all versions of the content, or whether you would like to include the most recent number of specified versions of the content.

Include List Permissions - select this option to copy the site permissions.

Include List Views - select this option if you would like to copy the number of views of the site.

Advanced Options

Overwrite if file exists - In a version library, selecting the "Overwrite if File Exists" option does not overwrite the files already in SharePoint. SharePoint will append these to the list as new versions.

Incremental Copy - Incremental or delta migrations are an important and powerful option for large or ongoing projects and migration validation. Once enabled this option will migrate new, modified or versioned content from the source to the destination, capturing changes made by users during the previous migration.

The value entered into the "Last" field will limit the amount of content examined to the time period specified, starting at present time.

To perform an incremental migration, enter the amount of time to include and select the appropriate time period in days, weeks or months. Incremental migration is designed to be used in scenarios where the destination is not being modified.

To perform a delta migration, enter zero in the field and select days as the time period. Delta migration is designed to be used in scenarios where both the source and destination may be modified during the course of the migration. Please note that a delta migration compares dates between source and destination to determine which content to include, so it will take more time to process than an incremental migration.

info

NOTE: The Overwrite if File Exists parameter will be disabled if this option is selected.

7. Once you have configured all your settings, click Finish.

info

NOTE: By default the restore process will put all the content, metadata, site/list structure, permissions and other supported objects back into the original backup location.

Related Documents