Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix ControlPoint 8.2 - User Guide

Preface Getting Started with ControlPoint Using Discovery to Collect Information for the ControlPoint Database Cache Searching for SharePoint Sites Managing SharePoint Objects
Accessing SharePoint Pages Viewing Properties of an Object within the SharePoint Hierarchy Creating Dashboards for Monitoring Statistics within Your SharePoint Farm Setting Object Properties Managing Site Collection and Site Features Managing Audit Settings Creating and Managing SharePoint Alerts Setting ControlPoint Alerts Managing Metadata Copying and Moving SharePoint Objects (Version 8.0 and Earlier) Moving a Site Collection to Another Content Database Deleting Sites Deleting Lists Archiving Audit Log Data Before Moving or Deleting a Site Collection Duplicating a Workflow Definition from one List or Site to Others Removing a Workflow from One or More Lists (or Sites)
Using ControlPoint Policies to Control Your SharePoint Environment Managing SharePoint User Permissions Data Analysis and Reporting
Specifying Parameters for Your Analysis Analysis Results Display Generating a SharePoint Summary Report Analyzing Activity Analyzing Object Properties Analyzing Storage Analyzing Content Generating a SharePoint Hierarchy Report Analyzing Trends Auditing Activities and Changes in Your SharePoint Environment Analyzing SharePoint Alerts Analyzing ControlPoint Policies Analyzing Users and Permissions The ControlPoint Task Audit Viewing Logged Errors
Scheduling a ControlPoint Operation Saving, Modifying and Executing Instructions for a ControlPoint Operation Using the ControlPoint Governance Policy Manager (SharePoint 2010 and Later) Using Sensitive Content Manager to Analyze SharePoint Content for Compliance Using ControlPoint Sentinel to Detect Anomalous Activity Default Menu Options for ControlPoint Users About Us

Duplicating a User's Permissions

Duplicate User Permissions is a ControlPoint action that lets you copy the permissions of one SharePoint user to one or more others.  Permissions can be copied for multiple site collections in a farm or Web application, or for individual site collections and sites.

EXCEPTIONS:  You cannot duplicate Site Collection Administrator privileges using this action.  You also cannot duplicate permissions that were granted via an Active Directory group (as an alternative, you can simply add the new user(s) to the Active Directory group).  

All of a user's permissions for a site collection, including any unique permissions for sites, lists, and libraries, and items are copied. .

NOTE:  If your ultimate goal is to delete a user after copying his or her permissions to another user (for example, if the user is leaving the department or company and is being replaced by someone else), you can do so as part of the procedure for Deleting User Permissions.

To duplicate a user's permissions:

1Select the site(s) for which you want to duplicate permissions.

2Choose Users and Security > Duplicate User Permissions.

3Complete the Parameters section as follows:

a)For Model User Name, select the user(s) whose permissions you want to duplicate.

NOTE:  Make sure that the permissions of the user you want to use as the model are appropriate for the target user(s).  Remember that you can review the permissions of the model before continuing.  If you entered the name of more than model user, the permissions of every one of those users (if different) will be assigned to the target user(s).

b)For Duplicate Permissions To, select the target user(s).

c)If you want permissions of the model user(s) to replace those of the target user(s), check the Delete existing permissions from target box.

NOTE:  If you leave this box unchecked, model user permissions will be added to any existing permissions.

Now you can either:

·run the operation immediately (by clicking the [Run Now] button)

OR

·schedule the operation to run at a later time or on a recurring basis.

OR

·save the operation as XML Instructions that can be executed at a later time.

If you chose the Run Now, option, after the operation has been processed:

·a confirmation message displays at the top of the page, and

·a ControlPoint Task Audit is generated for the operation and displays in the Results section.

If you schedule the operation, a link to the Task Audit is included in the scheduled action notification email.

See also Auditing ControlPoint Administrator Tasks.

 

Related Documents