Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Content Matrix 8.9 - File Share Edition User Guide

Introduction Entering the License Key Overview of Content Migration Content Matrix Console End User Interface Enabling Advanced Mode Enabling and Disabling Optimistic Mode Connecting to a File System Connecting to SharePoint Migrating to O365 Using the Azure Pipeline Preparing for Your Migration Initiating a Migration Configuring Copying Options Saving or Running a Migration Action Log Files Using PowerShell with Content Matrix
Configuring PowerShell for Use with Content Matrix Content Matrix PowerShell Commandlet List
Modifying Content Matrix Configuration and Settings Configuring Content Matrix for Distributed Migration Frequently Asked Questions About Us

Using Multi-Select

Multi-select can be used to select a number of nodes on the source side Explorer View tree, and migrate those nodes to a target SharePoint instance. Multiple SharePoint connections can be selected at one time, but only to Disconnect or Refresh those connections. If connected to a SharePoint farm or web application, only a single site collection can be selected at a time, however, multi-select can be used on any sub-sites under a single site collection.

This feature also works for migrating a single list or site into multiple target locations at the same time; for example, if you have a document library that you want to migrate into two or more target SharePoint sites. After the library is copied, any number of desired target sites can be selected, as long as they are all under the same target connection node, and when pasted the list will be migrated to all of the selected target site nodes. The basic cases for multi-select are copying: multiple to one, one to multiple, and multiple to multiple.

For example, if connected to a File Share in the Explorer View, and the navigation tree is expanded, you can select a number of folders (Folder A, Folder B, etc.) and these can all be migrated at the same time. After pasting the content all the selected content (Folder A, Folder B, etc.) will be migrated under the target SharePoint node.

In addition to using check boxes to multi-select, you can use <Shift> and the <Ctrl> keys in the conventional way.

Limitations of Multi-Select

There are a few limitations when using multi-select. These limitations are:

·Only one node type can be selected at a time - This means that if a SharePoint site node is selected, then only other site nodes can be selected, and included in the action. If a File Share connection type is made, only nodes under each specific connection can be selected at one time

While the content under those nodes will be migrated (as per the selected options), only other site nodes themselves can be selected. This is the same for SharePoint lists/libraries, and folders. When connected to a SharePoint server only a single site collection can be selected at one time, but multiple sites under the site collection level can be selected.

The first node selected in the multi-select will determine what type of node can be included, and if an invalid selection is made, then the node that you tried to select will only blink. For example, if a list is selected, then only other lists, within the site collection, can be selected. If you try to select a SharePoint folder or site, then this is an invalid selection, and the folder or site will blink.

·Available Context (Right-Click) Menu Options - When using multi-select the options that are available in the context (right-click) menu can change depending on where the multi selection is taking place.

 

Enabling Advanced Mode

Some options in Metalogix Content Matrix are considered "advanced" and are disabled by default.  Options that require Advanced Mode are identified throughout this documentation.

To enable Advanced Mode:

In Metalogix Content Matrix Console Ribbon menu, choose Settings > Enable Advanced Mode.

NOTE:  When the button is highlighted, Advanced Mode is enabled, and additional options become available for nodes/items selected in Explorer and Item View tabs. Transformations Options  become available as well.

Advanced Mode Enabled

Enabling and Disabling Optimistic Mode

Metalogix Content Matrix Console - File Share Edition has an Optimistic Mode designed for faster migration of content from a File Share to SharePoint by eliminating some of the additional checks that are normally made as part of the migration process. Optimistic Mode is an option that can only be set on a root File Share connection node (and not on a root SharePoint connection node).

NOTE:  As of version 8.5.0.4, Optimistic Mode is disabled by default.

Known Limitation:  Large File Migration

Currently, Optimistic Mode does not support large file migration.  For a CSOM target connection, if a file over 250 MB is encountered during migration, a message will be logged that prompts you to disable Optimistic Mode before attempting to migrate it.

How Versioning is Handled Based on Mode and SharePoint "Require Check Out" Setting

Optimistic Mode works best when the SharePoint setting Require Check Out is disabled.  If both Optimistic Mode and Require Checkout are enabled, migrated files will need to be manually checked in after migration.  The following table identifies how versioning is handled based on the various combinations of the migration mode and the Require Check Out setting.

If Optimistic Mode is ....

And the SharePoint Require Check Out setting is ...

Then ...

enabled

enabled

the files will be checked out on the target and they will be given a version number by SharePoint after they are manually checked in.

TIP:  If you notice that all of the migrated documents are in the checked-out status, it is likely that the SharePoint Require Check Out setting is enabled. This can be verified in the document library versioning settings (Document Library Settings > Versioning Settings). If this option is enabled there are two solutions available to migrate the File Share content and have the documents checked-in after migration. The first option is to disable Optimistic Mode. The second is to disable the Require Check Out SharePoint setting by switching it to No, then switching it back to Yes after migration.

disabled

the files will be incremented by the smallest version number type that is available (that is, by one minor version or major version depending on what version types are set).

disabled

enabled

all of the files will be migrated and automatically checked in, and they will have the same version number that existed in the source environment.

disabled

the documents will have a version number of 1.0 (because the documents will be viewed as "new" in the SharePoint environment, and they will be published as the first major version).

To enable or disable Optimistic Mode:

In Metalogix Content Matrix Console main ribbon, choose Settings > Enable Optimistic Mode, which is:

·Highlighted when enabled

FS Optimistic Mode Enabled

·Not highlighted when disabled

FS Optimistic Mode Disabled

Connecting to a File System

In order to connect to a File Share, you will need the system path (address) to the file share, and your login account must have access to the File Share.

To Connect to a File System Directory:

1.In the main Console ribbon, select Connection > Connect to File System.

2.In the Connect to File System dialog, either:

§ entere the connection path to the File Share

OR

§click [Browse] and navigate to the file share.

FS Connect to File System

3.Click [OK] to establish a File System connection.  

Note that, by default, the Explorer view shows only the folder structure of the connected File System.

FS Default

To show files in Explorer View:

1.Select the top level connection node for the File Share connection.

2.Right-click and choose Show Files.

FS Show Files

NOTE:  To re-hide files, select the top level node, right-click and choose Hide Files.

FS Hide Files

Related Documents