Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Content Matrix 8.8 - File Share Edition User Guide

Introduction Entering the License Key Overview of Content Migration Content Matrix Console End User Interface Enabling Advanced Mode Enabling and Disabling Optimistic Mode Connecting to a File System Connecting to SharePoint Preparing for Your Migration Initiating a Migration Configuring Copying Options Saving or Running a Migration Action Log Files Using PowerShell with Content Matrix
Configuring PowerShell for Use with Content Matrix Content Matrix PowerShell Commandlet List
Modifying Content Matrix Configuration and Settings Frequently Asked Questions About Us

Managing the Distributed Migration Job Queue

If Metalogix Content Matrix has been configured for Distributed Migration, the Console that is set up as the Controller (Host), provides a single point of management control over the job queue.

To open the Manage Queue dialog:

From the Metalogix Content Matrix Console ribbon Connection tab, select Manage Queue.

CONTEN~1_img153Distributed Migration Manage Queue

NOTE:  If the Manage Queue button appears disabled, your Metalogix Content Matrix Console edition is not connected to use a configured Agent Database. To configure an agent database, see Creating/Connecting to an Agent Database for Distributed Migration.

The Manage Queue dialog displays a list of migration Jobs, called the Distributed Migration Job list. The information presented in the various columns are as follows:

Column

Description

Job ID

The unique identifier of the job.

Job Name

The name of the job.

Created

The date and time the job was saved (and not when the job was queued).

Source URL

The source of the migration content.

Target URL

The target of the migration content.

Agent Name

The name of the Agent where the job is running. The value is blank when the job is queued.

Status

Recent state of the job. The status values could be one of the following values:

·Queued - the migration job is ready to start.

·Running - a migration is in progress.

·Failed - the job has encountered a fault condition.

·Done - the migration has completed.

You can select a job from the list by clicking anywhere on the row. A row selector icon and the highlighted row indicates the selected row.

Deleting a Distributed Migration Job

1.From the Manage Queue dialog, select the job that you want to delete from the Distributed Migration Job list. The row selector icon and the highlighted row indicates the selected row.

NOTE: Only jobs with a status of Queued or Done can be deleted. Deleting a job from the queue will not remove or delete any of the logging information that has already been sent to the main Job list for the Agent Database.

2.Click Delete Job.

(If the button is disabled, check that the selected job has a status that is either Queued or Done.)

A dialog will display asking you to confirm the deletion.

Refreshing the Jobs List

NOTE:  The refresh is applied to whichever job list Metalogix Content Matrix is currently connected to, whether that is the Agent Database (for the Distributed Migration feature) or via a standard connection.

To refresh the jobs list:

1.From the Manage Queue dialog, select a job in the Job List.  The row selector icon and the highlighted row indicates the selected row.

2.From the Jobs List menu bar, choose File > Refresh.

If the status of the job has changed, the Status value will indicate the new status of the job.

Log Files

You can view the progress of a migration tab in real-time via interactive log files. The logs are fully searchable, and are based on SQL Compact Edition (SQL CE) file types. The log files are tied into Job files (.LST), and these files are limited to 4GB in size.

To view an interactive log:

After starting an action, click Details>> in the progress dialog box.

NOTE:  All logging in Metalogix Content Matrix is done through jobs. If a job list is deleted from the Jobs List, all logging for those actions will also be deleted. There is no backup for the job lists, unless the job is manually saved to another location. Once a job list is deleted, all logging for the actions within that job list are gone. Metalogix Content Matrix will automatically hold any job lists created through any copy or compare actions, in the Job Lists section, and these job lists can only be deleted through the appropriate Delete commands. The job lists can also be manually selected and saved through the Job list section.

There are two types of jobs in Metalogix Content Matrix:

A job list is a collection of job items. A Job list is created for each copy or compare action that is made. Any "Copy" action/job that is in the Job List section can be used as the base of an incremental copy job. Job items can be viewed in the Log Viewer, by opening a job list. There are three basic ways to open a job list to access the Log Viewer:

·Double-click on a job list.

·Select a job list, then in the Job List section of the toolbar click View Log.

·Select a job, right-click, and choose View log.

Job items are job files, or logging, for individual items within the scope of an action. For example, if a File Share folder is copied as a SharePoint site, there would be a job item for adding each SharePoint list and each item in that list, and one job item for adding or creating each site or sub-site. If a File Share folder with 5 documents is copied, then there would be a job item for adding/creating the list, and then one job item for adding each of the documents.

Log Viewer

Job items are job files, or logging, for individual items within the scope of an action. For example, if a SharePoint site is copied, there would be a job item for adding each list and each item in that list, and one job item for adding or creating each site or sub-site. If a SharePoint list with fie documents is copied, then there would be a job item for adding/creating the list, and then one job item for adding each of the documents.

From the Log Viewer you can select and view any job items that exists within that job list.

NOTE:  Some actions in Metalogix Content Matrix have the ability to run with Verbose Logging. This option will increase the size of the log file.

Related Documents