Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Archive Manager for Files 8.3 - Administration Guide

About the documentation Archive manager for Files
How to manage more Archive Manager servers Restrictions tab Settings tab Scheduler tab Archive tab Post Processing Statistics tab System context menu
Other functionality Addendum

How to mark a version for deletion

 

Marking files for deletion is applicable only in the HSM store. It does not mean that files marked for deletion would be irretrievable. Files marked for deletion are kept in the HSM store and they are retrievable during their retention period (see the section “Retention categories”).

However, upon the expiration of retention time and eventually keep alive time files marked for deletion are considered useless and are therefore deleted by Delete job from the HSM store to free up space.

 

NOTE: Marking for deletion could be done on the folder level also via Archive Manager context menu (see the section “Context menu in Archive Manager for Files”).

 

To mark a specific version of a file for deletion:

1.Click on the Archive tab. Locate the desired folder in the left pane.

2.Locate the desired file in the right pane and then click on the upward arrow on the Versions tab to unfold it.

g-mark version1

3.Upon clicking on the upward arrow on the Versions tab, the tab unfolds. Select the desired version in the lower pane and then click on the Mark for deletion button.

g-mark version2

4.Click OK. The file will be displayed red, indicating that it is marked for deletion in the HSM store.

NOTE: The file is not deleted yet, and will be kept physically in the HSM store until the retention time and eventually keep alive time expires.

g-mark version3

 

How to remove deletion mark from a version

NOTE: Removing deletion mark could be done on the folder level also via Archive Manager context menu (see “Context menu in Archive Manager for Files”).

 

1.Click on the Archive tab. Locate the desired folder in the left pane.

2.Locate the desired file in the right pane.

3.Click on the upward arrow on the Versions tab.

4.After clicking on the upward arrow on the Versions tab, the tab unfolds. Select the desired version which is marked for deletion (highlighted in red) and then click on the Remove deletion mark button.

h-remove del1

5.Click OK.

h-remove del2

How to display files having been physically removed from the file server

With Archive Manager for Files it is possible to display files physically deleted from the file server. Files deleted from the file server are displayed with a red cross.

 

To display files deleted from the file server:

1.Click on the Archive tab.

2.Locate the desired folder in the left pane.

3.Click on the Show deleted items icon located in the upper right corner (see below).

i-display deleted1

 

4.Files deleted from the respective folder are displayed with a red cross. By selecting any of them you may display its versions.

NOTE: Retrieving of deleted items is described in the next section.

i-display deleted2

How to retrieve a version of a file deleted from the file server

1.Click on the Archive tab.

2.Click on the Show deleted items icon located in the upper right corner.

3.Locate the desired folder in the left pane.

4.Select the desired file in the right pane.

5.Click on the upward arrow on the Versions tab to unfold the tab.

6.Select the desired version in the lower pane and then click on the Get version button.

j-retrieve version1

7.In the Get version window you may choose to restore only a shortcut by selecting the Get shortcut only check box. Click OK.

j-retrieve version2

8.Click OK.

j-retrieve version3

NOTE: The same can be done also via Archive Manager context menu (see further).

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating