Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Archive Manager for Files 8.1.1 - Administration Guide

About the documentation Enterprise Manager – Common Part
How to manage more Archive Manager servers Restrictions tab Settings tab Scheduler tab Archive tab Post Processing tab Statistics tab System context menu
Other functionality Addendum

How to retrieve a folder/file

NOTE: Folders could be retrieved also via Archive Manager context menu which offers advanced settings (see “How to retrieve a specific version/shortcut”).

 

1.Click on the Archive tab.

2.Select the desired folder either recursively or non-recursively; or select the desired archived file.

NOTE: Should recursive selection be chosen, then all files along with all subfolders of the respective parent folder will be retrieved. Should non-recursive selection be chosen, then all files of the respective parent folder would be retrieved; its sub-folders would not.

3.Click on the Restore button.

e-retrieve folder1

4.During retrieving a pop-up window may be displayed informing that retrieving is in progress. When retrieving is over simply click Close to close the window.

e-retrieve folder2

5.Retrieved files will be displayed without an icon, yet selected.

To clear selection, simply click on the Clear selection button.

e-retrieve folder3

 

How to retrieve a desired version of a file

 

Our software offers versioning capability. This means that the HSM store keeps versions of modified files. Due to this capability, it is easy to retrieve any of the versions that are in the HSM store and work with them.

 

NOTE: Version retrieving with advanced settings can be done on a folder level via Archive Manager context menu (see “How to retrieve a specific version/shortcut”).

 

To retrieve a desired version of a file:

1.Click on the Archive tab.

2.Locate the desired file.

3.Click on the upward arrow on the Versions tab.

f-retrieve version1

4.After clicking on the upward arrow on the Versions tab, it unfolds as shown on the following screenshot. Select the desired version and then click on the Get version button.

f-retrieve version2

5.In the Get version window confirm by clicking OK.

NOTE: Should you wish to get only the shortcut to the desired version, select the Get shortcut only check box.

f-retrieve version3

6.Click Yes to confirm.

f-retrieve version4

 

7.Click OK.

f-retrieve version5

As you may have noticed, it is possible to get shortcuts to desired versions as well.

 

How to mark a version for deletion

 

Marking files for deletion is applicable only in the HSM store. It does not mean that files marked for deletion would be irretrievable. Files marked for deletion are kept in the HSM store and they are retrievable during their retention period (see the section “Retention categories”).

However, upon the expiration of retention time and eventually keep alive time files marked for deletion are considered useless and are therefore deleted by Delete job from the HSM store to free up space.

 

NOTE: Marking for deletion could be done on the folder level also via Archive Manager context menu (see the section “Context menu in Enterprise Manager”).

 

To mark a specific version of a file for deletion:

1.Click on the Archive tab. Locate the desired folder in the left pane.

2.Locate the desired file in the right pane and then click on the upward arrow on the Versions tab to unfold it.

g-mark version1

3.Upon clicking on the upward arrow on the Versions tab, the tab unfolds. Select the desired version in the lower pane and then click on the Mark for deletion button.

g-mark version2

4.Click OK. The file will be displayed red, indicating that it is marked for deletion in the HSM store.

NOTE: The file is not deleted yet, and will be kept physically in the HSM store until the retention time and eventually keep alive time expires.

g-mark version3

 

How to remove deletion mark from a version

NOTE: Removing deletion mark could be done on the folder level also via Archive Manager context menu (see “Context menu in Enterprise Manager”).

 

1.Click on the Archive tab. Locate the desired folder in the left pane.

2.Locate the desired file in the right pane.

3.Click on the upward arrow on the Versions tab.

4.After clicking on the upward arrow on the Versions tab, the tab unfolds. Select the desired version which is marked for deletion (highlighted in red) and then click on the Remove deletion mark button.

h-remove del1

 

5.Click OK.

 

h-remove del2

Related Documents